Can IPL performers finds spot in Indian T20I team for Windies tour


The Indian cricket team is all set to play a five-match T20I series against the West Indies in the Caribbean along with the United States. This is going to be the first T20I series for the Indian players since the conclusion of IPL 2023.

After the semi-final loss in the ICC T20I World Cup 2022 against England in Australia, the team was highly criticised as the fans felt the younger players were not being given enough chances and only the veteran players were playing in the team, too, with a traditional mindset and not playing in the latest T20 style.

Also Read: Player-by-Player Guide of Australia Squad in Ashes 2023

Since then, the T20I captaincy of the Indian team has been in the hands of Hardik Pandya as Rohit Sharma has been rested. There was, however, no official confirmation regarding the fact that Hardik Pandya is the new T20I captain of the Indian team.

As of now, everyone feels that Hardik Pandya should be presented with that role officially, as it is high time for a transition in the shortest format of the game. The younger players who perform consistently in the IPL should be rewarded by giving them the chance to represent their country at the highest level.

The experienced players are of great importance to a team, and they have served the team for a lot of years with complete dedication, but it is the right time now (the West Indies series) to change the face of the squad and bring a new-age team for T20Is.

Players like Yashasvi Jaiswal and Shubman Gill should be given the opening duties; Rinku Singh can handle the finishing, as he did that very well in the IPL; and Ravi Bishnoi can be added as a spinner as well.

Let us have a look at the predicted 15-man squad for the five T20Is against the West Indies in August.

Shubman Gill, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya (c), Tilak Varma, Rinku Singh, Jitesh Sharma (wk), Axar Patel, Ravindra Jadeja, Yuzvendra Chahal, Ravi Bishnoi, Mohammad Siraj, Arshdeep Singh, Jasprit Bumrah, and Mohammad Shami