BCCI announces MPL Sports as India’s new kit sponsor

MPL Sports, an e-sports platform has been selected as the new kit sponsor and official merchandise partner of the Indian cricket team, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) confirmed on Tuesday.

The e-sports platform has been selected for a three-year deal from November 2020 to December 2023. The association will begin from India’s forthcoming tour of Australia. As per the deal, both the Men and Women’s team and the under-19 Indian Cricket teams will be wearing jerseys designed and manufactured by MPL.

The previous four-year deal with Nike as the new kit sponsor came to an end in September this year. Upon the conclusion of the sponsorship, BCCI had invited bids for team kit sponsor and official merchandising partner rights through a tender process.

The partnership leads us to a new frontier for Team India and for sports merchandising in the country. We look forward to working with a young Indian brand like MPL Sports to tap the potential that this sphere holds. This partnership aims at facilitating access to high-quality Indian cricket fan merchandise, including the coveted Indian cricket team jersey for cricket fans not just in the country but globally,” Jay Shah, Honorary Secretary, BCCI said.

We are delighted to announce the dawn of a new era for Indian cricket with the appointment of MPL Sports as the kit sponsor for the Indian men’s and women’s national cricket team until 2023. We look forward to MPL Sports adding a new chapter to the team’s kit, and bring Official BCCI licensed merchandise within easy and convenient reach for the billion-plus fans who cheer for Team India,Sourav Ganguly, President, BCCI said.

Notably, the Mobile Premier League has also associated with IPL franchises – Kolkata Knight Riders and Royal Challengers Bangalore.

Indian’s tour of Australia will begin from 3 ODIs, starting from 27th November 2020. This will be followed by 3 ODIs and 4 Tests. The first of the four-match Test series will be played with the pink ball at Adelaide Cricket Ground.