Atlanta United FC, History, Ownership, Squad Members, Support Staff, and Honors

ATL united

atlanta united

Atlanta United FC, commonly known as Atlanta United, is an American proficient soccer club based in Atlanta, Georgia that competes in Major League Soccer (MLS) as a part of the league’s Eastern Conference. It is the foremost later champ of the U.S. Open Cup and Campeones Cup.


At the time the group was declared, Atlanta was the biggest metropolitan region without an MLS franchise. Atlanta Falcons proprietor Arthur Blank’s AMB Sports and Entertainment Group had submitted an offer for an extension establishment in 2008 but pulled back the offered in early 2009 due to state and nearby government budget setbacks and Blank’s failure to discover accomplices to construct a suitable stadium for the proposed team. On July 10, 2010, Dan Courtemanche, MLS’s official vice president of communications, said that in spite of the offered withdrawal, standard talks with Clear with respect to Atlanta’s potential as a development showcase were happening.

On May 31, 2011, the NHL’s Atlanta Thrashers were sold to True North Sports & Entertainment, who declared that they would migrate the group to Winnipeg and rebrand as the Winnipeg Jets. The Thrashers’ migration made a difference restart the endeavours and talks of bringing an MLS extension group to Atlanta.


Atlanta United FC works as a component of AMB Sports & Entertainment, a backup of AMB Group that incorporates Atlanta United, the Atlanta Hawks, and Mercedes-Benz Stadium.

The chief proprietor of AMB Group is Arthur Blank, an American businessman and a co-founder of The Home Depot.

Coaching Staff

Name Position Age
Frank de Boer Head Coach 49
Bob de Klerk Assistant Manager 58
Rob Valentino Assistant Manager 34
Orlando Trustfull Assistant Manager 49



Name Position Age
Darren Eales President 47
Arthur Blank Owner 77
Carlos Bocanegra Technical Director 40



Name Position Age
Jonathan Spector Head of International Relations and Scouting 34



  • Campeones Cup
    • Winners: 2019


  • MLS Cup
    • Winners: 2018
  • S. Open Cup
    • Winners: 2019
  • Eastern Conference
    • Winners (playoffs): 2018