AIBA World Championships (Women) – Boxing

AIBA World Championships

AIBA World Championships

AIBA is the sole overall administering body for the game of boxing across all the various formats of the art and sports form. There are 201 Member Federations. The International Boxing Association operates at a benefit of all dimensions of boxing, both men and women, to revitalize the game’s grassroots, create youth and high standard and level boxing and make new

open doors for semi-professionals and ace fighters. AIBA’s vision for boxing likewise grasps and sticks to the soul and estimations of the Olympic Movement.

With these qualities, AIBA guarantees the most elevated amounts of straightforward gauges including for most of our worldwide competition, rankings, judging and fighters’ compensation.

New competition formats have been chosen by AIBA, AIBA Pro Boxing (APB) and World Series of Boxing (WSB), offer a protected and straightforward new vocation way choice for fighters, whereby rousing the grassroots to take up the game.

By empowering and supporting fighters from grassroots as far as possible up to elite championship level, and onwards to a protected ace boxing career, it is trusted that future ages of fighters will be urged to join the game.

The AIBA World Boxing Championships and the AIBA Women’s World Boxing Championships are biennial boxing championship competitions which are organized by the International Boxing Association (AIBA), which is the game overseeing body. Alongside the Olympic boxing program, it is the highest order competition for the game. The competition was first held in 1974 Havana, Cuba as a men’s solitary occasion and the main ladies’ titles was held more than 25 years after the fact in 2001.

The women’s and men’s championships are held independently and since 2006 the biennial titles have been held every other year alternatively. The number of weight categories or divisions was changed from twelve to eleven from 2003 with the removal of the light middleweight category (71 kg). In 2011 the load classifications further reduced to ten with the cancellation of the featherweight category (57 kg).

The various men’s and women’s editions of the championship are the following:

Weight Category Women’s
Light Flyweight 45-48kg
Flyweight 51kg
Bantamweight 54kg
Lightweight 57kg
Light Welterweight 60kg
Welterweight 64kg
Middleweight 69kg
Light Heavyweight 75kg
Heavyweight 81kg
Super Heavyweight 81+kg

The 2018 AIBA Women’s World Boxing Championships was held at The Indira Gandhi Sports complex K D Jadav Indoor Stadium for the Indian squad at New Delhi, India and occurred between 15 and 24 November 2018. This was the same place that the 2010 edition of the Commonwealth Games In the finals of the light flyweight class Mary Kom of India beat Ukrainian fighter Hana Okhota to win the gold, making history by turning into the principal lady fighter to win six gold decorations in the AIBA World Boxing Championships.

AIBA World Championships (Women) - Boxing

China has won 4 gold medals and 1 silver medal, winning a total of 5 medals. India scored a gold medal, 1 silver, and two bronze medals thereby having a total of 4 medals. North Korea (1 gold and 2 bronze), Turkey (1 silver and 2 bronze) and United States of America (3 bronze) each took home 3 medals in the AIBA Women’s World Boxing Championships. A total of 40 medals were given away among the 21 participating countries.

Mary Kom paved her way to history after winning her sixth World title, against Hanna Okhota in the 48kg category, which is more than any woman in the world. With that, she cemented her place among the greatest female boxers in the world. The other Indian who also made headlines was Sonia Chahal. Sonia Chahal went up against Wahnder Ornella Gabrielle from Germany in the finals. Ms Chahal competed in the 57 kg category.

The 2019 AIBA Women’s World Boxing Championships were held in Ulan-Ude, Russia from 3 to 13 October 2019.

India finished with one silver and three bronze medals at the AIBA Women’s World Boxing Championships 2019. The tally of 4 medals has put India at the third position out of the 51 countries that participated in Championship. Russia topped the tournament with six medals, followed by China with a medal tally of 5.

♦ Manju Rani won silver bronze under 48kg category
♦ Mary Kom won bronze under 51kg category
♦ Lovlina Borgohain won bronze under 69kg category
♦ Jamuna Boro won bronze under 54kg category

Also Check:

Leave a Reply