Mohammad Shahzad and Wafadar Momand Secures Spot for Bangladesh Series

Mohammad Shahzad

The Afghanistan Cricket Board (ACB) has announced their 16-member squad for the two-match T20I series against Bangladesh, including uncapped pace bowler Wafadar Momand. Mohammad Shahzad and Hazratullah Zazai will make their return during the series. Afghanistan arrived in Dhaka on July 1 ahead of the three-match ODI series scheduled between July 5-11 at the Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium.

Also Read: Major Boost for Afghanistan As Rashid Khan Returns for ODIs against Bangladesh

Asadullah Khan, the ACB’s chief selector, brought back Mohammad Shahzad due to his recent performances in domestic cricket. Shahzad last played a T20I against New Zealand in 2021. Following the series, there are two T20Is scheduled for each team on July 14 and 16 at Sylhet International Cricket Stadium.

The selection panel is currently looking at all the players before finalizing their squad for the upcoming T20 World Cup, which is scheduled in the USA and West Indies in 2024.

ACB’s chief selector Asadullah Khan stated that “they brought back Mohammad Shahzad due to his recent performances in domestic cricket and to have an attacking batter as a back-up for the opening slot.”

He believes that Shahzad is the best option and shows readiness for T20Is. Khan also said that “they are starting the process now for the next T20 World Cup and will see the players on typical roles before deciding.”

Wafadar Momand was included in the squad because he has a very good pace and showed that in camps and domestic cricket. The selection panel is looking at players to decide on the final.

squad for the World Cup. Afsar Zazai, Usman Ghani, Sharafadullah Ashraf, and former national skipper Gubaidin Naib were part of the squad that played Pakistan but failed to retain their places. Asadullah explained that they are currently observing various players during matches to determine the squad for the future.

Afghanistan Squad: Rashid Khan (c), Ibrahim Zadran, Mohammad Shehzad, Rahmanullah Gurbaz (wk), Wafadar Momand, Hazratullah Zazai, Sediqullah Atal, Najibullah Zadran, Karim Janat, Azmatullah Omarzai, Noor Ahmad, Mujeeb Ur Rehman, Mohammad Nabi, Fareed Ahmad, Fazalhaq Farooqi and Naveen-ul-Haq.