India Won the 2nd ODI against Australia, Kohli played the Captain’s Knock

India vs Australia

India Won the 2nd ODI against Australia:-  After the first ODI loss, India finally broke the shackles and registered its second victory at the Adelaide Oval. The wicket was a batting paradise and offered no seam or lateral movement to the bowlers. Australia won the toss and chose to bat, fresh from the first ODI victory Australia started off the innings in a blazing fashion, but lost quick 3 wickets during the process.

India Won the 2nd ODI against Australia

When every batsman had thrown their wicket by playing a rash shot, Shaun Marsh was the leader of the wolf pack after scoring 131 runs off just 123 balls including 11 fours and 3 humongous sixes. Glen Maxwell also came handy with the bat after scoring 48 but wasted at the lower order. Australia played the quota of 50 overs and scored 298 runs for the loss of 9 wickets.

Bhuvaneshwar Kumar was the pick of all the Indian bowlers, he took 4 wickets for 45 wickets, but missed what could be the inspiring 5 wicket haul.

virat kohli

India Won the 2nd ODI against Australia:- India too started off the innings in a spanking fashion, Shikhar Dhawan attacks Australian bowlers from the ball one and started taking them to the whiskers, whereas Rohit Sharma played the robust sheet anchor role. When Shikhar was looking all set for the big one, he got tempted by a loose ball and thrown away his wicket at 32. Rohit Sharma continued to play his elegant stroke play along with skipper Virat Kohli, but couldn’t resist from playing a hook shot, which has been the major influence for his downfall in ODI’s.

But the crucial wickets didn’t hamper the confidence of Kohli he played his natural game with liberation and notched his 39th ODI century, only 10 short to the world record 49 centuries by Sachin Tendulkar. After the departure of Ambati Rayadu at 24, MSD soaked all the pressure and remained not out till the end. He scored the match-winning 55. Virat Kohli was declared the Man of the Match for his match-winning century. The series is now 1-1 with 1 matches to go. The decider match will be at the Melbourne cricket ground on 18th January 2019.

Also, Check:

Leave a Reply