IND vs NZ: T20I Head-to-Head records -

IND vs NZ: T20I Head-to-Head records

Team India has traveled to New Zealand for a full-fledged six-week tour that begins with a five-match T20I series from January 24.

India has not had the best record against the Kiwis in the shortest format, playing 12 games, losing eight with one match ending in No Result, way back in 2012. The last time the Men in Blue toured New Zealand for a T20I series was in 2019, when they, once again, went down to the Black Caps 2-1.ind-vs-nz-T20-head-to-head-2020

The first encounter between the two sides was in the T20 World Cup in the inaugural season in 2007 in South Africa, when New Zealand edged ahead and handed India a 10-run loss in the Super Eights, also India’s only loss in the said tournament that they went on to win.

In their next five T20I meetings, India were unable to get over the line against New Zealand, losing two matches in New Zealand in 2009 at Christchurch and Wellington respectively. Their fourth encounter between them was abandoned, in Vizag. It was also the game where Yuvraj Singh was slated to make a comeback to the national team after a tough battle with cancer.ind-vs-nz-t20-head-to-head-matches-2020

India again went on to lose a T20I game in the 2016 World Cup against the Kiwis in Nagpur. On a slow and sluggish track, the Kiwi spinners strangled the Indians, winning by 47 runs.

India finally tasted success against them in a T20I series that was staged in Delhi in 2017. They went on to win the three-match series, but not before India had lost the second game.

ind-vs-nz-head-to-head-T20-2020The last T20I series between the two sides Down Under was once again a hard-fought one, with the hosts taking the first game by a mammoth margin of 80 runs. However, the visitors staged a remarkable comeback to take the match by 7 wickets. The third T20I went down to the wire, but Dinesh Karthik was unable to get the team over the line as India lost by 4 runs.

IND vs NZ T20I Head to Head results

Winner Margin Venue Date
New Zealand 10 runs Johannesburg 16 Sept 2007
New Zealand 7 wickets Christchurch 25 Feb 2009
New Zealand 5 wickets Wellington 27 Feb 2009
NA NA Vizag 8 Sept 2012
New Zealand 1 run Chennai 11 Sep 2012
New Zealand 47 runs Nagpur 15 March 2016
India 53 runs Delhi 1 Nov 2017
New Zealand 40 runs Rajkot 4 Nov 2017
India 6 runs Thiruvananthapuram 7 Nov 2017
New Zealand 80 runs Wellington 6 Feb 2019
India 7 wickets Auckland 8 Feb 2019
New Zealand 4 runs Hamilton 10 Feb 2019


Please follow and like us:
Wordpress Social Share Plugin powered by Ultimatelysocial