England name 14-man unchanged squad for the final Test against Pakistan

England vs Pakistan 2nd test James Anderson helps restrict Pakistan

England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) on Thursday announced the unchanged 14-man squad for the third and final test against Pakistan. 

The final test match of the three-match series will be played at the Ageas Bowl between August 21-25. England is already leading the series by 1-0, with the second test ending on a draw due to rain. 

England coach Chris Silverwood said that the management is still keen on welcoming all options going into the third test. The side didn’t use the other three players and might include them in the playing XI. 

The ICC took to the official Twitter account to confirm the 14-man squad as they posted, “England have named an unchanged 14-man squad for the third #ENGvPAK Test,” 

Silverwood will be expecting his men to replicate the same performance they gave in entire series. The pace attack could likely be the same after the trio James Anderson, Chris Woakes and Stuart Broad. In fact, James Anderson could finally go past 600 wickets mark in Test cricket. 

On the other hand, Pakistan will try to finally get a win in the series before heading on to the T20I series. Skipper Azhar Ali will himself look to overcome his poor form and finally score runs for the team. They could still try to end up drawing the series 1-1 rather than losing. 

England’s 14-man squad:

Joe Root (captain), James Anderson, Jofra Archer, Dom Bess, Stuart Broad, Rory Burns, Jos Buttler, Zak Crawley, Sam Curran, Ollie Pope, Ollie Robinson, Som Sibley, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood.