Who stands where in ICC World Test Championship after South Africa’s point deduction


Time is not running well for Cricket South Africa and things turned more ugly for the hosts after the loss against England in the fourth Test. The slow over-rate offense did more insult to the injury as they lost six points in the ICC World Test Championship. Faf du Plessis and his men were also fined 60% of their match fee after falling short of their target in Johannesburg.

According to ICC’s rules in the World Test Championship, South Africa was penalized six points for being three overs short.

“In accordance with Article 2.22 of the ICC Code of Conduct for Players and Player Support Personnel, which relates to minimum over-rate offenses, players are fined 20 percent of their match fees for every over their side fails to bowl in the allotted time. In addition, as per Article 16.11.2 of the ICC World Test Championship playing conditions, aside is penalized two points for each over short,” the cricket board stated.

South Africa did not use any spinner in the whole Test and it played a big part in the slow over-rate in the end. Six bowlers were used throughout the Test and all were pacers. Proteas were found guilty of being three overs short after time allowances were taken into consideration. Hence, they were charged and ICC deducted six points.


The point deduction has made things even worse for the hosts. South Africa is now sitting at seventh position in the points table with only 24 points in their account.

Meanwhile, England ended the Test series in a stunning manner by dismantling the hosts by 191 runs. They wrapped up the series 3-1 and are currently third in the table with 146 points. Virat Kohli and his men are flying high on the top of the table with a mammoth 360-point in their account. They have played seven matches so far and won all of them. On the other hand, Australia is second in the table with 296 points after playing three more matches than the table-toppers India.


West Indies and Bangladesh are at the bottom of the table. Both the teams have played two matches each and are yet to earn a point. On the other hand, Pakistan and Sri Lanka both are tied with 80 points. New Zealand is also in a similar situation like South Africa as they are yet to open their account despite playing five Tests.

ICC World Test Championship points table:

Rank Team Series Played Matches Played Matches Won Matches Tied Matches Drawn Matches Lost Points PCT Series Wins RPW
1 India 3 7 7 0 0 0 360 1.000 3 2.897
2 Australia 3 10 7 0 1 2 296 0.822 2 1.604
3 England 2 9 5 0 1 3 146 0.608 1 1.068
4 Pakistan 2 4 1 0 1 2 80 0.333 1 0.765
5 Sri Lanka 2 4 1 0 1 2 80 0.333 0 0.589
6 New Zealand 2 5 1 0 0 4 60 0.250 0 0.698
7 South Africa 1 7 1 0 0 6 30 0.125 0 0.521
8 West Indies 1 2 0 0 0 2 0 0.000 0 0.411
9 Bangladesh 1 2 0 0 0 2 0 0.000 0 0.304