European Golden Shoe 2022-23: Top 10 Players for European Golden Shoe 2022-23 | Lionel Messi | Robert Lewandowski

The 2022-23 season’s UEFA Champions League and Europa League will get underway in less than a week but the race for European Golden Shoe race of 2022-23 has been started.

Strikers across the Europe have much time to get their way to the top of the highest goal scorers list for rest of the season.

Barcelona newly signed striker, Robert Lewandowski won the back-to-back European Golden shoe award and now looking to catch Lionel Messi who has won record three times in a row in (2016-2019).

Robert Lewandowski has scored 35 goals for his former club Bayern Munich last season and gained 70 golden shoe points which made him won the European golden shoe award last season.

Meanwhile, Barcelona new No.9 will be looking to win the award as Lewandowski has scored 6 goals already and been on the top of the list.

On the other side, Real Madrid‘s last season top scorer, Karim Benzema will also looking to win the prestigious award after winning the UEFA Player of the Year this season. 

PSG superstar Kylian Mbappe will be also one of the contender for Golden shoe race as the French international came second previous year on the golden shoe race award as Mbappe scored 28 goals in Ligue 1.

However, In the most competitive league across the Europe, Premier League also got some strikers who could win it all including the likes of Erling Haaland, Mo Salah and Harry Kane.

In the latest transfer window, Erling Haaland came to Manchester City from Borussia Dortmund and now is favourite to win the top scorer award in Premier league 2022-23.

Paris Saint Germain top player Lionel Messi and Neymar duo have dominated the goals and assist for several years and both will be looking to win the award.

There are few underdog contenders who have often emerged in last few years, As Lazio’s striker Ciro Immobile have started the year with 3 goals in Serie A. Ciro Immobile is also the former winner of Golden Shoe winner.

In Serie A there are strikers who could grab the award as well as Inter Milan‘s prolific goal scorer, Romelu Lukaku and Juventus‘ Dusan Vlahovic.

Top 10 Player for European Golden Shoe 2022-23

After this week matches around the Europe, Barcelona’s striker, Lewandowski scored a brace as Barcelona defeated Real Valladolid 4-0 at Camp Nou. Now Robert Lewandowski has scored 4 goals with 8 golden shoe points.

Paris Saint Germain golden boy, Neymar grabs the top spot in the European Golden Shoe race award, as the Brazilian have scored 6 goals in 4 games. 

Across Europe’s five major leagues, Manchester City newly signed striker, Haaland who scored a amazing hat-trick as City came from behind to defeat Crystal Palace 4-2 in the English Premier league.

Erling Haaland has now scored a total of 6 goals and is on joint leader on the list for European Gold shoe standing along side Neymar. Manchester City striker, Haaland also tops the goal scoring standing in Premier league.

PSG’s Kylian Mbappe had a rough start with the Ligue 1 games but still managed to score 4 goals and is on level with Lewandowski goal records. There are several players who have scored 4 goals and more in the Europe such as Harry Kane, Aleksandar Mitrovic, Borja Iglesias and more.

*The European Golden Shoe standing of 2022-23 season will be updated as the matches will take place

2022/23 European Golden Shoe

Player Goals Points
Neymar (PSG) 6 12
Erling Haaland (Man City) 6 12
Robert Lewandowski (Barcelona) 4 8
Kylian Mbappe (PSG) 4 8
Rodrigo (Leeds) 4 8
Aleksandar Mitrovic (Fulham) 4 8
Harry Kane (Tottenham) 4 8
Christopher Nkunku (RB Leipzig) 4 8
Sheraldo Becker (Union Berlin) 4 8
Borja Iglesias (Betis) 4 8

List of Previous 10 years Golden Shoe Winners

PSG star Lionel Messi has won the most European Gold Shoe titles till now (6 times). Argentina star, Messi has prevail on 4 times in the last 10 years in Golden Shoe winners.

Lionel Messi who considered as the best player in the world holds the record for the most goals and points in one season. In 2011/12 Messi broke the record of goals in a season as he scored 50 goals and gained 100 points.

There are total of 10 players who won the prestigious award two times, including last year winner Robert Lewandowski, Luiz Suarez and Thierry Henry.

Former Bayern Munich striker, Robert Lewandowski became the first Bundesliga winner since 1972 as the current best striker in the world had scored 41 goals from 29 games.

Check out the List of last 10 years Golden Shoe Winners

Season Winner Team Goals/Points
2021/22 Robert Lewandowski Bayern Munich 35/70
2020/21 Robert Lewandowski Bayern Munich 41/82
2019/20 Ciro Immobile Lazio 36/72
2018/19 Lionel Messi Barcelona 36/72
2017/18 Lionel Messi Barcelona 34/68
2016/17 Lionel Messi Barcelona 37/74
2015/16 Luis Suarez Barcelona 40/80
2014/15 Cristiano Ronaldo Real Madrid 48/96
2013/14 Suarez/Ronaldo (shared) Liverpool/Madrid 31/62
2012/13 Lionel Messi Barcelona 46/92