Real Madrid History, Ownership, Squad members, Support Staff and Honors


Real Madrid, also known as The Whites, is a Spanish professional Football club. They participate in the La Liga, Copa del Rey and Supercopa de Espana.


Real Madrid was formed 117 years ago in 1902 by the name Madrid FC. It remained the Madrid FC till 1920 when King Alfonso XIII added the title Real (Royal) to it. The Club won four consecutive Copa del Rey during 1905-08. Before the outbreak of WWII, the club won two La Liga and seven Copa del Rey titles.

After WWII, the club president Santiago Bernabeu Yeste rebuilt the club. He constructed a new stadium and signed a number of high-profile international players in order to compete at the European Stage.

With players like Alfredo Di Stéfano, Ferenc Puskás, and Francisco Gento, the club clinched five European Cups, destroying any opposition on their path from 1956-60. That team is still considered the greatest team ever assembled.

Club Ownership

Like FC Barcelona, Real Madrid is also a fan-owned club. Every four years, the 80,000 Socios or members elect the club’s president who heads the board of directors.

Currently, the club President is Florentino Pérez Rodríguez, a Spanish businessman, civil engineer and former politician. The Estadio Santiago Bernabeu is the home ground of Real Madrid. The stadium has the capacity to hold 81,044 spectators at a time.

Real Madrid is among the top 10 most valuable sports teams around the globe with a total worth of 4.2 billion dollars.


Name Position Age
Zinedine Zidane Head Coach 47
David Bettoni Assistant Coach 47
Hamidou Msaidie Assistant Coach
Roberto Dupont Fitness Coach
Javier Mallo Fitness Coach
Roberto Vazquez Goal Keeping Coach


Name  Position Jersey No.
E. Hazard Forward 7
Vinicius Junior Forward 25
M. Asensio Forward 20
Rodrygo Forward 27
G. Bale Forward 11
L. Vazquez Forward 17
L. Jovic Forward 18
K. Benzema Forward 9
M. Diaz Forward 24
Casemiro Midfielder 14
T. Kroos Midfielder 8
L. Modric Midfielder 10
F. Valverde Midfielder 15
Isco Midfielder 22
J. Rodriguez Midfielder 16
B. Diaz Midfielder 21
R. Varane Defender 5
E. Militao Defender 3
S. Ramos Defender 4
F. Mendy Defender 23
Marcelo Defender 12
D. Carvajal Defender 2
A. Odriozola Defender 19
T. Courtois GoalKeeper 13
A. Areola GoalKeeper 1



The Club holds

  • 33 La Liga titles
  • 19 Copa del Rey titles
  • 10 Supercopa de Espana titles


The Club holds

  • 13 UEFA Champions League titles
  • 2 UEFA Super Cup titles


The Club holds

  • 4 FIFA Club World Cup titles






Leave a Reply