Lowest Scores by DC: Lowest Team Totals by DC in IPL


Lowest Scores by DC

Delhi Capitals always had a very talented squad, but never quite managed to make it big. There were seasons like 2012 one, in which they looked destined to win the trophy, but the trophy has always remained elusive. One of the reasons might be their often under-performing batting line-up.

In the list of 5 Lowest Team Totals in the history of the IPL., Delhi Capitals have earned two mentions. Though they have had the likes of Virender Sehwag and David Warner in their squad, they have often crumbled very badly. There have been 11 occasions thus far in which the side has failed to cross the 100-run mark.

5 Lowest Scores by DC in Indian Premier League

Let us have a look at the Five Lowest Team Totals by DC in IPL:


#1. 66 vs Mumbai Indians

mi vs dd 2017

Lowest Team Totals by DC: This is Delhi Capitals‘ lowest ever score in IPL, and also the third-lowest score by any IPL team ever. This was in the 2017 season, and the then Delhi skipper Zaheer Khan won the toss and asked Mumbai Indians to bat first. Indians batted brilliantly at the Arun Jaitley Stadium to pile up a mountain of 212 runs. Caribbean superstars Lendl Simmons and Kieron Pollard scored half-centuries.

Coming out to the bat, the Delhi batters fell like nine pins. Only three batters reached double figures, and only one amongst them crossed the 10-run mark. Karun Nair was the highest scorer for Delhi with 21 runs, while Corey Anderson and Pat Cummins scored 10 runs each. Spinner Harbhajan Singh and Karn Sharma picked up 3 wickets each.

Read More: Lowest Scores by CSK


#2. 67 vs Kings XI Punjab

dd vs kxip 2017

Lowest Scores by DC: It doesn’t require any rocket science to understand that the 2017 edition was very poor for Delhi since two of the five mentions on this list are about a match from that year. This time, the match was at Mohali. Glenn Maxwell won the toss and asked Delhi Capitals to bat first.

Once again, only 3 batters reached double figures, but no one could reach the 20-run mark. Corey Anderson was the highest scorer of the match for DC with 18 runs, while Karun Nair and Kagiso Rabada scored 11 runs each. Sandeep Sharma did most of the damage with the ball. He picked up 4 wickets by conceding just 20 runs. Punjab chased down the target in just 7.5 overs.

Read More: Lowest Scores by KXIP


#3. 80 vs Sunrisers Hyderabad

dd vs srh 2013

Lowest Team Totals by DC: This happened in 2013, at Hyderabad. Delhi skipper Mahela Jayawardene won the toss and elected to bat first. The decision immediately proved to be fatal, as both him and Virender Sehwag were dismissed early. Only four batters reached double figures, and once again no one of them was capable of reaching the 20-run mark.

Unmukt Chand was the highest scorer for DC with 17 runs. Irfan Pathan scored 13 runs, while both Mahela Jayawardene and Jeevan Mendis scored 11 runs each. Thisara Perera and skipper Darren Sammy were the best performers with the ball. Both bowled picked up 2 wickets. Hyderabad chased the target with 6 overs and a ball to spare.

Read More: Lowest scores by SRH


#4. 83 vs Chennai Super Kings


Lowest Scores by DC: Just like the first and second, the third and fourth mentions on this list happened in the same season. This time, the match was played at the Arun Jaitley Stadium. Mahendra Singh Dhoni won the toss and decided to bat first. Courtesy fine innings from him and opener Michael Hussey, they scored 169 runs.

While it was a good total, Capitals were expected to show a fight. Instead, they crumbled like a house of cards. Only 3 batters reached double-figure. The current CSK player Kedar Jadhav was then the highest scorer for DC, with 31 runs. Virender Sehwag scored 17 runs, while Jeevan Mendis added 12 runs to their total. Mohit Sharma was the most successful bowler for Chennai Super Kings. He took 3 wickets.

Read More: Highest scores by MI in IPL


#5. 84 vs Chennai Super Kings

dc vs csk

Lowest Team Totals by DC: Against the same opposition, this incident took place a year later at Abu Dhabi. Dhoni once again won the toss and decided to bat first. Delhi was initially superb with the ball, but then Suresh Raina and Dhoni brought CSK back into the game. Suresh Raina scored a half-century as CSK reached 177.

No batsman from the Capitals’ side could find a way to tackle the CSK bowlers. James Neesham was the highest scorer with DC with 22. Captain Dinesh Karthik scored 21, while Jean Paul Duminy scored 15. Besides that, only Murali Vijay was able to reach double figures. Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja were the two best bowlers for CSK.

Read More: Lowest Score in IPL