PKL Season 9 : Key events from Day 23

PKL 9 key updates

In one of the articles before we discussed about the things that went unmarked from match day 22 of Pro Kabaddi League season 9. Sportzcraazy‘s uniformity is to bring forth the gossips and unknown-untouched facts from each game day as well as from previous seasons too.

So without further to do, lets unfold some interesting facts and figure.

1. A match has been tied for 5th time this season – Yesterday we witnessed an absolute cracking fixture between Bengal Warriors and Tamil Thalaiavs. The match truly went down the wire as both the teams were relentless in their approach and hoped to take all 5 points. The score line of 41-41 ensured both the teams took 3 points home. The Warriors were trailing by more than 10 points by the end of the first-half but a masterclass by Captain Maninder Singh saw him complete his 4th Super 10 of season 9 and finished the match with 19 raid points to his name. Narender Kandola from Thalaiavas on the other hand brought back 15 raid points and kept the South Indian outfit away from their 5th defeat of the season.

2. Telegu Titans lose their 55th game in PKL history – Ever since the induction of Telegu Titans in Pro Kabaddi League season 5, they have not reached the Play-off spots for even once. In season 5 and 6 they finished 5th in (Group B) during the Group stages. Groups were abolished from PKL in season 7 but it didn’t change Telegu’s fate as they finished in the 11th spot followed by a last placed finish in Season 8. In the on-going season 9 too, they are languishing at the bottom spot in the league table. Yesterday’s loss against U Mumba was their 9th defeat of this season and 55th loss overall in PKL history. One of the reasons behind their poor performance is inconsistency and the lack of options in the raiding department as they have Abhishek Singh and Siddharth Desai as the only two recognized raiders.

3. Yesterday marked the 49th Super 10 of season 9 – Both the matches on Match day 23 saw raiders complete 4 Super 10’s – 2 from each game. The first draw between Bengal Warriors and Tamil Thalaivas saw Maninder Singh and Narnder Kandola complete their Super 10s. In the following match where U Mumba prevailed as winners saw Ashish and Siddharth Desai hit a Super 10. Those 4 Super 10s took this season’s tally to 49 Super 10s.

Also Read – PKL Season 9 2022 : Top 3 unnoticed events from Match day 22