Indian players who have scored century in Test debut

century in Test debut

In his flawless innings against the West Indies in Dominica, which is still going strong, Yashasvi Jaiswal became the 17th Indian batter to score a century on his test debut. He has now joined an elite list of players and has etched his name in the history books of Indian cricket forever.

Also Read: List of All Records Scripted By Ravichandran Ashwin as he Scalps Fifer in IND vs WI 1st Test

Jaiswal’s innings started with a bit of nerves as he took some time to score his first run in international cricket, but as soon as he got his first run, he batted perfectly. Left the good balls, showed patience, punished the bad balls, and most importantly, played along the ground and did not hit even a single shot in the air.

Jaiswal, with his debut test innings, has shown everyone that he is the present as well as the future of Indian cricket. Players like Yashasvi Jaiswal, Shubman Gill, Mohammad Siraj, etc. give the fans and the senior players assurance that Indian cricket is going to dominate world cricket for a long period of time.

Yashasvi Jaiswal is now part of an exquisite list of Indian batters who have scored a century in their test debut match. The list is below.

S. No. Player Opposition Year
1 Lala Amarnath England 1933
2 Deepak Shodhan Pakistan 1952
3 AG Kripal Singh New Zealand 1955
4 Abbas Ali Baig England 1959
5 Hanumant Singh England 1964
6 Gundappa Vishvanath Australia 1969
7 Surinder Amarnath New Zealand 1976
8 Mohammad Azharuddin England 1984
9 Pravin Amre South Africa 1992
10 Sourav Ganguly England 1996
11 Virender Sehwag South Africa 2001
12 Suresh Raina Sri Lanka 2010
13 Shikhar Dhawan Australia 2013
14 Rohit Sharma West Indies 2013
15 Prithvi Shaw West Indies 2018
16 Shreyas Iyer New Zealand 2021
17 Yashasvi Jaiswal West Indies 2023

Lala Amarnath was the first Indian batter to score a century in his test debut innings. He scored 118 runs against England in Mumbai and achieved this feat. In 1959, Abbas Ali Baig became the first Indian player to score an overseas century on his test debut. He played an innings of 112 runs against England at Old Trafford.

Out of all these players, Prithvi Shaw holds the record for being the youngest Indian player to score a century on his test debut, whereas Shikhar Dhawan holds the record for scoring the fastest century on his debut for India.