Best Captains in Indian Cricket History

Indian Cricket Team Captains List

India has produced some well suited and dedicated cricket captain from different parts of the country. Some has made it through some remarkable victories, and some got caught up with unnecessary controversies. Here are the Top 6 best Indian cricket captain list:

Captains of Indian Cricket Team

#1 Mahendra Singh Dhoni  – “The Captain Cool”

MS Dhoni

The “Captain Cool” who led India to an astonishing victory in the World Cup 2011 finals. The most popular and the most respected captain of all times titled with the nickname ‘MAHI,‘ started his career as a ticket checker at Kharagpur railway station but later turned into a professional cricketer and ultimately India cricket team captain. Indian cricket captain list

MS Dhoni made his debut in the year 2004 and got his breakthrough as a captain in the year 2007, where he led the team to the victory of ICC T-20 World Cup. His intention to serve his country the best has always been observed whether by his dedication to the game, his soft corner for India army or his zeal for his national duties. well, Mahi also considered the most successful Indian cricket captain, He has been awarded many national prestigious awards like Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna award, Padma Shri, Padma Bhushan, etc.

#2 Sourav Ganguly – “The fearless Tiger”

Sourav Ganguly

Indian Cricket Team Captains: Second on the Indian cricket team captain list, Filled with a Bengal tiger attitude, furious ‘Dada’ has given one of the greatest talents to the nation of which M.S. Dhoni is one. Known for his expressive and temperamental style of captaincy, Dada has made India proud through many contributions like making India reach the finals of the 2003 World cup and the Asia cup and also drawing a series against Australia.

Sourav Ganguly has done the most remarkable work for India which no press no media coverage has ever shown. It is the binding of all players together. When Ganguly took charge as India team captain, his main responsibility is to integrate the whole team from scattered zones. India was all unorganized, and all it needed is a proper lineup. This is the reason why he becomes blunt and expressive about his efforts. Though this pressure has affected his performance to a greater extent under his captaincy, the team grew up enormously and he was tagged as one of the best captains of Indian cricket history.

Read More: Fab Four of Indian Cricket 

#3 Kapil Dev – “The Haryana Hurricane”

Kapil Dev

This man led team India to win over its world cup title for the very first time in the year 1983. Being a debutant in the year 1982, Kapil Dev had just two match experience and with lots of positivity and enthusiastic zeal he led the team against the India cricket rulers- the Windies.

Making a record against Zimbabwe in 1983 world cup, where he scored 126 in the 9th wicket position and the main catch here is that India was at the verge of a knockout. Apart from that, he led the team to win the 1986 test series against England, the best test team in the world (then). He has been titled as ‘An India cricketer which India can never produce back.’

#4 Mohammed Azharuddin – “Azhar at his best”

Mohammed Azharuddin

Mohammad Azharuddin, The highly contributing captain, who scored well through his awesome cricketing shots, fielded like a boss and the team captain of the India National Cricket Team. He is one of the most skilful captains India has ever produced. Famous for the ‘flick’ shot as his signature shot, he proved to give nightmares to the bowlers who faced his attack.

His always has his charm on the field. He has the capability to turn the direction of the match. Winning India in various top-notch matches, the player caught up in a match-fixing case too. It was his peak when the tragedy happened, but his efforts and contribution is always cherished as the greatest cricketer of all time. He is still remembered as one of the best captains on the list of best Indian team captains.

#5 Mansur Ali Khan Pataudi –  “Tiger Pataudi”

Mansur Ali Khan Pataudi

Very well known for his designation but people are unaware of his contributions and achievements as a captain of the Indian cricket team. Mansur Ali Khan Pataudi was the youngest to take charge as Indian captain at the age of 21 years. His dedication and determination to his game had been praised worldwide as once upon a time his eye, but after that, he managed to maintain a score of 34 in test matches.

As a captain, he witnessed the fact that Indian team lags in fast bowlers. Thus introduced spinner to the team and gave some remarkable spinner like Bedi, Prasanna, Chandrasekhar, and Venkatraghavan to the Indian cricket team.

These are the best Indian Cricket Team Captains  Indian cricket captain list in the history helping India bring laurels through their leadership skill and decision-making ability.

#6 Virat Kohli

Virat Kohli

Current Indian captain Virat Kohli is on its way to becoming the most successful captain. Earlier Team India went on to defeat hosts West Indies in the first of their two-match Test series by 318 runs. Virat Kohli is now the most successful Indian captain in overseas Tests!

With India’s win over West Indies, Kohli managed to go ahead of Sourav Ganguly to create a new record for himself. This win becomes Virat Kohli’s 12 Test victory overseas which he managed to achieve in only his 26th match as Test captain of the Indian cricket team. Sourav Ganguly previously held the record with 11 Test victories from the 28 matches as captain.

30-year-old Kohli has also managed to equal MS Dhoni’s record of the most number of wins in Test matches. Both Virat Kohli and MS Dhoni have 27 wins as captain in the longest format of the game. with his achievements and records for India, he is on its way to becoming the best Indian Cricket Team Captains.

#6 Rahul Dravid- The Wall

Rahul Dravid definitely was not the most popular Indian captain and everyone said that because he did not have a great world cup.

Under his captaincy, the Indian team tied the previous record of most consecutive wins for an Indian team (8). During his reign, the Indian team broke the 14 match West Indies record for most consecutive wins and won 16 matches to create a new record. For this 16 match run, Dravid was captain for 14 and Sourav Ganguly for the other two.

 He holds the highest winning percentage among all the captains who have captained their sides in at least 5 ODI’s. His winning percentage of 62.16 displaces Ajay Jadeja’s 61.54.

Rahul Dravid was the first  Indian cricket captain to a Test match victory against South Africa on South African soil. Under Dravid’s captaincy, the Indian team tied the previous record of most consecutive One-Day International wins for an Indian team thus equalling the record run that the Indian team had achieved under Sourav Ganguly in the 2003 World Cup in South Africa. This was later beaten by M S Dhoni who led the Indian team to 9 consecutive victories in 2008–2009.


Also Check: What if an Indian Cricket Fan Missed Last 10 years of Indian Cricket due to Coma?

Leave a Reply