The Manchester United History, Ownership, Squad Members, Support Staff And Honors


The Manchester United, a.k.a The Red Devils, is a 141-year-old professional Football club based in Manchester. They participate in the Premier League, FA Cup and FA Community Shield. The club is among the top Football clubs across the globe.


During the Industrial Revolution, Manchester was one of the fastest-growing city due to a torrent of workers arriving from different parts of the British Islands, by 19th century Manchester passed one million inhabits by 1900 and thus became one of the biggest city in Europe.

During such revolutionary evolution of the city, Manchester United emerged as Newton Health LYR Football Club by the Carriage and Wagon department of the Lancashire and Yorkshire Railway depot at Newton Heath.

Later the club adopted the name Manchester United after becoming independent from the railway company LYR. In 1892 the club played its first Football League match, the club climbed the heights of prosperity under the guidance of Ernest Mangnall after which the club won the title of FA Cup.

Since the origin of the club, it’s home ground has been changed three times. Currently, the  Old Trafford is the home ground of The Red Devils.

Club Ownership

The Manchester United is currently under the ownership of The Glazers family which was possible due to American tycoon Malcolm Glazer who during 2003-05, acquired United by gradually talking over the Shareholders that cost him around 750 Million Euros.

After his death in 2014, Joel and Avram Glazer were made the club’s co-chairman who are currently handling the 3.81 Billion Dollars’ worth Club on their shoulders.


Name Position Age
Ole Gunnar Solskjaer Manager 46
Michael Carrick Assistant Manager 38
Kieran McKenna Assistant Manager 33
Mike Phelan Assistant Manager 57
Mark Dempsey Assistant Manager 55
Emilio Alvarez Blanco Goalkeeping Coach 58
Jim Lawlor Chief Analyst 56
Andrew Meredith Chief Analyst 47


Name Position  Age
Marcel Bout Chief Scout 56
Andreas Herrmann Scout 28
Tommy Moller Nielsen Scout 58
Thomas Bormann Scout 54
Armand Banneker Scout 50
Vasco Noronha Scout
Joao Ferreira Scout
Roy Beukenkamp Scout 51
Bernard Schuiteman Scout 46
Rene Moonen Youth Scout


Name  Position Age
Rod Thornley Physiotherapist 44
Jos van Dijk Physiotherapist 62
Richard Hawkins Physiotherapist 48


Name  Position Age
Nicky Butt Academy Manager 44


Name  Position Jersey No.
Mason Greenwood Forward 26
Anthony Martial Forward 9
Marcus Rashford Forward 10
Tahith Chong Midfielders 44
James Garner Midfielders 37
Angel Gomes Midfielders 28
Daniel James Midfielders 21
Scott McTominay Midfielders 39
Nemanja Matic Midfielders 31
Fred Midfielders 17
Andreas Pereira Midfielders 15
Jesse Lingard Midfielders 14
Juan Mata Midfielders 8
Paul Pogba Midfielders 6
Brandon Williams Defenders 53
Harry Maguire Defenders 5
Axel Tunazebe Defenders 38
Timothy Fosu-Mensah Defenders 24
Aaron Wan-Bissaka Defenders 29
Luke Shaw Defenders 23
Diogo Dalot Defenders 20
Ashley Young Defenders 18
Marcos Rojo Defenders 16
Phil Jones Defenders 4
Eric Bailly Defenders 3
Victor Lindelof Defenders 2
Sergio Romero GoalKeepers 22
David de Gea GoalKeepers 13
Lee Grant GoalKeepers 1



The Club holds

  • 20 English Premier League titles
  • 2 Champions League titles


The Club  holds

  • 12 FA Cup titles
  • 5 English League Cup titles
  • 1 FIFA Club World Cup title
  • 1 Intercontinental Cup title
  • 1 UEFA Super Cup 1 title
  • 21 English Super Cup titles

Leave a Reply