MI Total Losses: Total Matches Lost by MI in IPL

mi 2017

MI Total Losses in IPL

Mumbai Indians have made it a habit to feature in the playoffs of the IPL, if not winning the whole thing. However, like any other IPL side, they have endured a few losses on the way to this enviable record. With 78 defeats in 187 matches, here’s a closer look at Total Matches Lost by MI in IPL in an effort to see what makes a champion.

List of MI Total Losses in IPL Season (2008-109)


#1. 2008 (7 losses)

MI IPL 2008

Although fans of the IPL are used to seeing Mumbai Indians make the playoffs at least, if not the finals, the inaugural season of the tournament was not kind to MI. Seven losses in 14 group stage encounters saw them miss out on qualification as they finished in seventh place.

Read More: Total Losses by DC in IPL


#2. 2009 (8 losses)

Things did not get much better for the number of Total Matches Lost by MI in the 2009 season as they recorded 8 losses in 14 group stage games. Their woeful record saw them finish the season in 7th place on the overall table.


#3. 2010 (5 losses)

Having spent two years trying to get accustomed to the IPL, Mumbai Indians finally got it right in 2010, storming to the top of the group stage standings with just 4 losses in 14 games. Following a win in the semis, however, they failed to secure their maiden title as they went on to lose to Chennai Super Kings in the final.

Read More: Total Losses By KXIP


#4. 2011 (6 losses)

MI IPL 2011

A meagre 5 defeats in 14 group stage games in 2011 saw Mumbai Indians once again take their place in the knockout stages of the IPL, as they finished in third place in the league. Once again, however, a loss in the semis saw them relegated to third place in the standings.


#5. 2012 (7 losses)

The number of Total Matches Lost by MI jumped up in 2012 as they lost six of their 16 group stage games to finish third in the table. A loss in the first semi-final saw them end the season with seven losses and a fourth-place finish.

Read More: Total losses by SRH in IPL


#6. 2013 (6 losses)

It may have taken five seasons to learn what it takes to actually win an IPL title, but Mumbai Indians finally pulled it off in 2013. Following just 5 losses in 16 group stage games, Mumbai suffered a wobble in the qualifiers by losing the first knockout game only to make a recovery via the eliminator and take home the title.


#7. 2014 (8 losses)

MI IPL 2014

The title win didn’t result in much success for MI – seven losses in 14 games in 2014 contributed to MI total losses in IPL matches, as the defending champions just about managed to scrape through to the group stage where they were promptly handed another defeat in the semis.

Read More: KKR Total losses in IPL


#8. 2015 (6 losses)

Having been humbled by a semi-final exit the previous year, Mumbai Indians roared back to take home their second title in 2015. The number of Total Matches Lost by MI in IPL was kept to a minimum as they lost just 6 games in 14 group stage encounters. Having finished in second place, they went on to win their semi-final and final matches to register another title win.


#9. 2016 (7 losses)

As with the previous title win, Mumbai Indians had a disappointing follow-up season in 2016, racking up 7 losses in 14 games and ending up in the fifth position, out of contention for a place in the playoffs.

Read More: Most Losses in IPL


#10. 2017 (5 losses)

mi 2017

In 2017, Mumbai Indians demonstrated the best way to come back from a disappointing IPL campaign as they sailed through to their third championship win. Having lost just 4 times in the group stage, they endured only their fifth loss of the season in the knockouts before winning the eliminator and the final.


#11. 2018 (8 losses)

Following the pattern of their previous title wins, MI total losses in IPL matches went up further following last season’s success. Eight losses in 14 group stage games saw them end up in fifth yet again, outside the playoff places.

Read More: Most consecutive losses in IPL


#12. 2019 (5 losses)

2019 produced one of the most gripping finals in IPL history, and Mumbai Indians were fortunate enough to end up on the winning side. Having lost just 5 of their 14 group stage games, Mumbai wrapped up a record fourth title by defeating Chennai Super Kings by one run in the final.