IPL 2021: Tied matches in IPL history

Tied matches in IPL history

A tie in any sport always makes the match interesting to watch. We have witnessed many tie matches in limited-overs cricket, including one of the biggest T20 leagues Indian Premier League. However, the current method of breaking a tie is the Super Over. A Super Over is a single, additional overplayed by both the teams. Here we take a look at all the tied matches in IPL history and the subsequent results determined via Super Overs:

Rajasthan Royals vs Kolkata Knight Riders – April 23, 2009, Cape Town

The first-ever tie witnessed in an IPL was played between Rajasthan Royals (RR) and Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR), in the second season of the IPL in 2009. Rajasthan Royals won the match after both teams finished with 150 runs in the Super Over.

Kings XI Punjab vs Chennai Super Kings – March 12, 2010, Chennai

Kings XI Punjab emerged as the winner of the Super Over at Chennai and won the match with the scores tied at 136 in a match in the 2010 edition.

Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Royal Challengers Bangalore – April 7, 2013, Hyderabad

Sunrisers Hyderabad turned out as the winner of the match after the super over was played between
the southern teams Hyderabad and Bangalore which was earlier tied at 130 runs in the 2013 match.

Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Delhi Daredevils – April 16, 2013, Bangalore

Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) gave a taste of defeat to the Delhi Capitals (then Delhi Daredevils), via a super over in this 2013 match played between the two teams which were tied at 152.

Rajasthan Royals vs Kolkata Knight Riders – April 29, 2014, Abu Dhabi

Rajasthan Royals (RR) and Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) once again tied a match in the 2014 season and the match was decided via a super over. Just like their first Super Over face-off in 2009, Royals defeated Knight Riders again, after the two teams were tied at 152 runs.

Kings XI Punjab vs Rajasthan Royals – April 21, 2015, Ahmedabad

Kings XI Punjab (now Punjab Kings) defeated Rajasthan Royals in this tied match in the 2015 season of the IPL after the scores were tied at 191.

Mumbai Indians vs Gujarat Lions – April 29, 2017, Rajkot

Mumbai Indians defeated Gujarat Lions in the 2017 IPL edition in Rajkot when the scores were tied 153.

Delhi Capitals vs Kolkata Knight Riders – April 30, 2019, Delhi

KKR wound up into yet another tied match in the 2019 edition of the IPL and once again finished on the losing side, this time it was the Delhi Capitals post the scores that were tied at 185.

Mumbai Indians vs Sunrisers Hyderabad – May 2, 2019, Mumbai

Four-time IPL champions Mumbai Indians played their second tied match in the last season of IPL last. They once again were on the winning side via a Super Over, when the scores were tied at 162.

Delhi Capitals vs Kings XI Punjab – September 20, 2020, Dubai

In the current season which was suspended in May, the first tied match was played between Delhi Capital and Punjab Kings. Delhi Capitals defeated Punjab via a Super Over in Dubai, after the scores were tied at 157.

Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Mumbai Indians – September 28, 2020, Dubai

Dubai witnessed another tied match in the same season between Bangalore and Mumbai. RCB won the match after the scores were tied at 201


Kings XI Punjab vs Mumbai Indians – October 18, 2020, Abu Dubai

IPL season 13 has turned out to be one of the most exciting seasons so far. The League has not yet finished and it has already witnessed as many as three Super Overs.

On October 18th both matches were played finishing in ties. In the second match of the day, which was played between Kings XI Punjab and Mumbai Indians, the scores were tied at 176. The first Super Over then also finished in a tie, forcing a second one to be played and it was Punjab who held the winning badge.