Hanuma Vihari, Parthiv Patel and Shubman Gill Named the Captains of Deodhar Trophy Teams

shubman gill

Shubman Gill has been named the captain of India C team which will compete with India A and India B in the upcoming Deodhar trophy.

Gill is one of the most exciting talents to have come out of the Indian domestic circuit in the recent times and he is already a part of the Indian test squad. BCCI seems to be looking to groom Gill as a leader as well.

The team that Gill will be leading in the Deodhar trophy has some really experienced players like Mayank Agarwal, Surya Kumar Yadav and Dinesh Karthik. Surya and Karthik have captained their state sides on many occasions in the past.

Gill, on the other hand, doesn’t have that much of captaincy experience at any level of cricket, but, the selectors have still opted for him as captain. The captains of the other two teams in the tournament, that is India A and India B, are Hanuma Vihari and Parthiv Patel respectively.

The India A squad features India’s test regular Ravichandran Ashwin as well. Ashwin, who was the first choice of spinner of India in all formats of the game at one stage, has now fallen out of favour in white ball cricket.

The last time the Tamil Nadu veteran played white ball cricket for India was two years back on the West Indies tour. This Deodhar Trophy will be an opportunity for him to show that he can still do a decent job for India in white ball cricket.

The other India internationals who would be seen playing in the Deodhar Trophy are Jaydev Unadkat, Siddarth Kaul, Shahbaz Nadeem, Mohammed Siraj, Dhawal Kulkarni and Axar Patel.

Here are the three squads –

India AHanuma Vihari (c), Devdutt Padikkal, A R Easwaran, Vishnu Vinod, Amandeep Khare, Abhishek Raman, Ishan Kishan (wk), Shahbaz Ahmed, Ravi Bishnoi, Ravichandran Ashwin, Jaydev Unadkat, Sandeep Warrier, Siddarth Kaul, Bhargav Merai

India BParthiv Patel (c&wk), Priyank Panchal, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Baba Aparajith, Kedar Jadhav, Ruturaj Gaekwad, Shahbaz Nadeem, Anukul Roy, K Gowtham, Vijay Shankar, Mohammed Siraj, Rush Kalaria, Yarra Prithviraj, Nitish Rana

India CShubman Gill (c), Mayank Agarwal, Anmolpreet Singh, Suryakumar Yadav, Priyam Garg, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Axar Patel, Mayank Markande, Jalaj Saxena, Avesh Khan, Dhawal Kulkarni, Ishan Porel, D G Pathania, Virat Singh



Leave a Reply