Pro Kabaddi League Season 7 Team Preview UP Yoddha

UP Yoddha

UP Yoddha Team Preview Season 7: Since their introduction in the Pro Kabaddi League in Season 5, UP Yoddha have performed exceptionally well in both the seasons. The UP-based franchise has established itself as one of the stronger units in the league. They have managed to reach the playoffs twice in two seasons. UP Yoddha will look to better their record in Season 7 by clinching their maiden Pro Kabaddi League trophy.

How they Performed in Season 6?

UP Yoddha had an outstanding Season 6 as they finished at the third position in Zone A points table. They ended up winning the eliminators and finishing third in the competition, surpassing all expectations.

How did the Auctions Go for UP Yoddha?

Prior to the auctions, UP Yoddha’s team management decided to retain a total of six players including two players Amit Narwal and Sachin Kumar from the Elite category and the remaining four from the Young Player Category.

UP Yoddha Team

Based on the retention policy adopted by the team management of UP Yoddhas, it was clear that the franchise would splurge money in the auctions to acquire the services of top quality players.

Hence, it was not a surprise when Yoddha shelled out the hefty amount for the likes of Monu Goyat(₹93 lakh), Shrikanth Jadhav(₹68 lakh) and Rishank Devadiga(₹61 lakh) in the auctions.

After making these top buys in the auction, the team management of UP Yoddha shifted their focus towards filling out the holes in the team to add more balance to the squad.


The raiding unit of Yoddhas wears a commanding look with the presence of Monu Goyat and Shrikant Jadhav in their ranks. Furthermore, the returning Rishank Devadiga is bound to make matters difficult on the mat for opposition defenders. Add to the mix Mohsen Maghsoudlou and the Yoddha can undoubtedly rely on their raiding unit for a bulk of points.


UP Yoddha have the tried and tested corner duo of Nitesh Kumar and Sachin Kumar at their disposal but lack more firepower in the defensive setup. Narender looked out of form last season, and if either of the Kumars’ fails to turn up, then the Yoddhas could certainly find themselves sailing in the troubled water.

How does UP Yoddha Look? UP Yoddha Team Preview Season 7

Very Good
The Yoddhas from UP has assembled a star-studded raiding unit for Season 7. With Monu Goyat, Shrikant Jadhav and Rishank Devadiga among their ranks, Yoddhas have a lot of muscle in that department. With the retention of youngster Nitesh Kumar and Sachin Kumar, who has been growing from strength to strength, the defense of Yoddhas too looks in safe hands.

What to Expect from UP Yoddha in Season 7?

UP Yoddha have been the consistent performers in the last two seasons. This year too they have assembled a squad capable of winning the Pro Kabaddi league. However, if they can better their performances from the past two seasons and clinch their maiden title is remaining to be seen.

Players to Watch Out For:

Nitesh Kumar: The right corner of the UP Yoddha became the first defender in the Pro Kabaddi League history to notch up a total of 100 tackle points in a single season last year. For UP Yoddha to reach the playoffs for the third consecutive season, Nitesh needs to replicate his Season six performance, and he will once again be the most crucial player for UP Yoddha on the mat.
Rishank Devadiga: Since their introduction in the league in Season 5, Rishank Devadiga has been the face of the UP Yoddha franchise. Devadiga through his stellar displays on the mat has led the team to playoffs in both the seasons and the UP team management would wish that the Maharashtra born player performs as per his reputation once again.

UP Yoddhas Full Squad: UP Yoddha Squad

Raiders: Amit Narwal, Aashish Nagar, Monu Goyat, Shrikant Jadhav, Rishank Devadiga, Mohsen Maghsoudloujafari, and Ankush.
All-Rounders: Azad Singh, Surender Singh, Narender, Gurdeep, and Masud Karim.
Defenders: Sachin Kumar, Arkam Shaikh, Nitesh Kumar, and Gulveer Singh

Probable Starting 7 for UP Yoddha:
Nitesh Kumar (Right Corner), Monu Goyat (Right In), Narender (Right Cover), Rishank Devadiga (Center), Amit (Left Cover), Shrikant Jadhav (Left In), and Sachin Kumar (Left Corner)

Leave a Reply