Asian Games 2023: Ruturaj Gaikwad was Announced as the Captain of the Indian Team

Ruturaj Gaikwad

Asian Games 2023 is going to be played from 19th September 2023 to 7th October 2023. For this important Cricket event, Ruturaj Gaikwad has been given the reigns of captaincy. Many questions have been raised about his selection as the captain of the Indian Cricket team.

However, this is certainly a big milestone for Ruturaj. At the same time, the star player Shikhar Dhawan has been dropped. Questions are also being raised about the career of Shikhar Dhawan too. Is this the end of Shikhar Dhawan’s international career? 

Also read: BCCI announces both men’s and women’s squads for the upcoming Asian Games 

Squad for Asian Games 2023 (Captain Ruturaj Gaikwad)

BCCI recently announced the squad for the Asian Games 2023 on their official Twitter account. You can see the list of the young players given below. Performing well in the Asian Games is certainly going to provide a launch pad for their career. 

  • Ruturaj Gaikwad (Captain)
  • Yashasvi Jaiswal, Rahul Tripathi
  • Tilak Varma, Rinku Singh
  • Jitesh Sharma (wk)
  • Washington Sundar
  • Shahbaz Ahmed
  • Ravi Bishnoi, Avesh Khan
  • Arshdeep Singh
  • Mukesh Kumar
  • Shivam Mavi
  • Shivam Dube
  • Prabhsimran Singh (wk)

Where are the seniors like Rohit Sharma, and Virat Kohli? 

It is important for the senior players to stick to their commitment to the World Cup. That is the reason they are not going to be featuring in this tournament. That means it is a great opportunity for all the young Cricketers to go out there and express themselves, through their natural game. 

Why Ruturaj Gaikwad has been selected as the captain? 

Questions are being raised on the selection of Ruturaj as the captain. However, BCCI has answered these questions by mentioning that they are trying to give a chance to fresh faces. 

Undoubtedly, there are high hopes from these youngsters in the Asian Games. This squad is reminding the squad of the 2007 T20 World Cup squad under the captaincy of MS Dhoni. Let’s hope they win in a similar manner.