Ravindra Jadeja relives memories of 2013’s ICC Champions Trophy with a Golden Tweet

Ravindra Jadeja

Ravindra Jadeja, an all-rounder, played a pivotal role in India’s triumph. Not only was he the leading wicket-taker of the tournament, but he also received the prestigious Golden Ball award for his outstanding performance.

In 2013, India clinched their last ICC Trophy title by winning the Champions Trophy in England. The entire nation erupted with joy when James Tredwell failed to connect with one of Ashwin’s off-spin deliveries, much like MS Dhoni did behind the stumps.

Under the leadership of MS Dhoni, this victory marked India’s third title, preceded by the T20 World Cup in 2007 and the World Cup in 2011. Ravindra Jadeja took to Twitter to celebrate his individual achievement as well as India’s success in this significant ICC event.

During the final, Jadeja’s unbeaten 33 runs off 25 balls, including two fours and two sixes, proved vital for India. Despite rain interrupting the match, Jadeja’s innings helped India set a total of 129 runs on the scoreboard.

The final was played as a 20-over game. Additionally, Jadeja contributed with two wickets in the match, helping restrict England to six runs short of the target. Impressively, Jadeja claimed a total of 12 wickets in five games, boasting an exceptional economy rate of 3.75. He shone brightly with a five-wicket haul against West Indies.

India commenced their campaign with a 26-run victory over South Africa. Following the opening match, India dominated West Indies and Pakistan in the group stage, securing the top spot in Group B. In the semifinals, India thrashed Sri Lanka by eight wickets, setting up a clash with England in the final.

Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, and Virat Kohli, India’s top three batsmen, finished among the top five leading run-scorers in the tournament. Dhawan emerged as the highest scorer with 363 runs in five games. Unfortunately, since the 2013 Champions Trophy, India has been unable to capture another ICC title. They faced defeat in the final against Pakistan in the subsequent 2017 Champions Trophy.