NZ v IND: Prithvi Shaw makes a comeback as India announces Test squad


Prithvi Shaw Images
The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has finally announced the much-awaited team for the upcoming Test series against New Zealand. Young batting sensation Prithvi Shaw is all set to make a comeback into the team for the series after being out of the side since the Test series against West Indies in 2018. 

The 19-year-old cricketer from Mumbai has made his way into the team as Rohit Sharma has been ruled out of the series due to a calf injury that he endured during the fifth and final T20 International game against the Black Caps. Shaw made his debut in 2018 against the Windies in Rajkot. The right-hand opening batsman played a superb knock of 134 in his debut innings and followed it by a knock 70 in the second Test.

He was taken to Australia to be a part of the Test series. But got injured while fielding in a practice match before the series. Since January 2019, he has been waiting to stage a comeback into the team and finally, he has managed to do that.

Another youngster who has earned a Test call-up is none other than Shubman Gill. Gill has been giving some superlative performances in the domestic circuit and has looked in great touch in the recently held tour game between India A and New Zealand A. As a result, he has been given a place in the squad. Meanwhile, Navdeep Saini has also been rewarded with a place in the team. Saini has been included in the team because there is still suspense on the availability of pacer Ishant Sharma.

shubman gill

Ishant is a part of the announced squad but will only be included in the playing XI if he is deemed fit to play.

On the other, Kuldeep Yadav has been excluded from the squad once again as Ravichandra Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja will serve as the two spinning options during the series. Wriddhimann Saha and Rishabh Pant are also on the sides. It will be interesting to see which of them will get a chance to keep the gloves.

The first Test between India and New Zealand will commence from February 21 in Wellington.

India Test squad: Virat Kohli (Captain), Mayank Agarwal, Prithvi Shaw, Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), Hanuma Vihari, Wriddhiman Saha (wicket-keeper), Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Jasprit Bumrah, Umesh Yadav, Mohammad Shami, Navdeep Saini, and Ishant Sharma (subject to fitness clearance).