IPL 2023: Most consecutive wins by a team in IPL

Most consecutive wins by a team in IPL

Consistency is the identity of a team that’s outstanding. The teams that win consecutively reflect that their success is repetitive and not by chance. Here we take you through a list of teams that had amazing winning streak making them the most consistent teams in the Indian Premier League.

  1. Kolkata Knight Riders – 10 consecutive wins

Kolkata Knight Riders

Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) lead the table at the top of this list with 10 consecutive wins in two IPL seasons, 2014 and 2015. The Kolkata franchise is the only team to reach two digits of consecutive wins in the IPL.

The winning streak began with their win against Delhi Daredevils (now Delhi Capitals) in the league match of the IPL 2014 edition. They had emerged victorious in just 2 matches of the previous 7 games before that. However, post the victory against Delhi, Kolkata went all the way to the finals with a series of 9 continuous wins in that season and followed by their second title in 3 years.

Their 9 wins included wins against Kings XI Punjab (Now, Punjab Kings) thrice, including the final, Sunrisers Hyderabad twice, and DD, MI, CSK, and SRH each. Their 10th win came against Mumbai Indians in the opening match of the next season in 2015. However, they lost to Bangalore in the second game of the 2015 IPL and thus the 10-match-long winning series came to an end

  1. Kings XI Punjab – 8 consecutive wins


Kings XI Punjab (KXIP), now known as Punjab Kings (PBKS), have never won an IPL trophy. However, have a record of consecutive wins in the IPL 2013 and 2014 editions. They managed to win 8 continuous games, 3 in 2013 and 5 in 2014.

The winning streak commenced with a win versus Royal Challengers Bangalore in the 63rd match of the IPL 2013. Punjab won the remaining 2 matches in that season and maintained the winning form in the next season with 5 consecutive wins beginning from the victory against CSK in their first match of the season. Out of these 8 victories, Punjab defeated RCB twice and the remaining IPL teams once. Their winning streak ended with a loss versus Kolkata in the 34th match of the 2014 IPL.

  1. Chennai Super Kings – 7 Wins consecutive wins

Chennai Super Kings

Chennai Super Kings is regarded as the second most successful franchise in the Indian Premier League and is also the third on the list with 7 successive wins in the IPL 2013. They are the only team except for Mumbai Indians who have won 2 consecutive IPL trophies- 2010 and 2011. Speaking of their winning streak, they commenced the series of victories in the league match against Delhi Daredevils (now Delhi Capitals). They even defeated KKR twice, Rajasthan Royals, Sunrisers Hyderabad, Pune Warriors, and KXIP once each. The streak came to end with a loss against Mumbai in the 49th league match of the IPL 2013.

  1. Royal Challengers Bangalore – 7 wins consecutive wins


Though Royal Challengers Bangalore are yet to win an IPL trophy despite reaching the top of the table more than once, the team still manages to maintain a winning streak. They managed to achieve the feat by winning 7 successive matches in the 2011 IPL.

They kick-started the winning saga by a massive victory against Kolkata in the 24th match of the 2011 IPL 2011 by 9 wickets. In the remaining 6 victories, RCB defeated all the other franchises except Chennai. It was KXIP that stopped Bangalore’s winning streak by defeating them with a huge margin of 111 runs in Punjab after scoring 232 runs batting first.

5. Mumbai Indians – 6 consecutive wins

Mumbai Indians is the most successful IPL team that has won the tournament 5 times with consecutive IPL trophies in the last 2 seasons- 2019 and 2020. They also managed 6 successive wins in the debut edition of the Indian Premier League in 2008.

After losing the first 4 games of the 2008 IPL, Mumbai got their first-ever IPL to win in the 5th match of the season against Kolkata. It was a decent win by 7 wickets that led their winning streak. They defeated Delhi, Rajasthan, Chennai, Kolkata, and Deccan Chargers in the next 5 games to complete a winning streak of 6 matches. In the 45th game of the season, Mumbai lost to Punjab by just 1 run and that ended their winning streak.