Purple Cap Winners: List of Purple Cap Holders In IPL History


Purple Cap Winners In IPL

T20 cricket has never been a format for the bowlers nor so is IPL. The Batsmen have just one aim of taking the bowlers apart, they give their heart and soul in order to accumulate as many runs as possible in an over.

There are only a few days when a bowler takes wicket or restricts them to low scores but there are some great bowlers who have managed to restrict the batsmen as well as pick wickets on a regular basis throughout the league, such bowlers make it into the list for all Purple cap holder in IPL history.

List of all Purple Cap Winners In IPL History:


#1 Sohail Tanvir

Purple Cap Winners

The Pakistani fast bowler caused havoc in the very first season of the Indian Premier League. He dominated the batsman throughout the league and was crucial in the Rajasthan Royals title-winning campaign. Sohail Tanvir took 22 wickets in 11 matches in the 2008 IPL season, his terrific performances resulted in him winning the purple cap in inaugural season.

Read More: Most Man of the Match Awards In IPL


#2 RP Singh

RP Singh Purple Cap Winners

The right arm Indian medium-pacer RP Singh was a part of the Deccan chargers squad that was led by Adam Gilchrist. The 2009 season of the Indian Premier League was held in South Africa due to political reasons. During the 2009 season, RP Singh showcased his class and 23 wickets in 16 matches. He was extraordinary in DC’s title-winning season.


#3 Pragyan Ojha

Pragyan Ojha Biography

Deccan chargers were always known for their bowling unit and they proved it once again when Pragyan Ojha won the purple cap in the second season running by a Deccan Chargers player. Ojha managed to pick up 21 wickets in his 16 matches.

Read More: Best Bowlers In IPL History


#4. Lasith Malinga

Lasith Malinga Photo

Lasith Malinga is currently the highest wicket-taker in IPL and probably. He showcased his real class in the 2011 season of the Indian Premier League, he took 28 wickets in 16 matches. It is the second-best overall figure for a bowler in a single season and the best of that season.


#5. Morne Morkel

Morné Morkel Biography

The tall South African fast bowler Morne Morkel’s best performance in the IPL came in the year 2012 while playing for Delhi Daredevils. Morkel managed to pick 25 wickets in 16 matches and won the purple cap in that season. It was a rare success for the fast bowler in the IPL as his time in IPL wasn’t as good as he would have liked it to be.

Read More: Most Dangerous Bowlers In IPL


#6. Dwayne Bravo

dwayne bravo ipl

One of the best bowlers in the death overs when it comes to T20 cricket, Dwayne Bravo, has been absolutely magnificent for CSK over time. In the 2013 season, he won the purple cap with 32 wickets in 18 matches the best ever season for a bowler in the IPL history.


#7 Mohit Sharma

Mohit Sharma

Another CSK medium pace bowler is in the list for all purple cap winners in IPL history. Mohit Sharma won the purple cap in 2014 season when he took 23 wickets in 16 matches. Mohit was much effective for the CSK side with his back of the hand slower balls and variation in pace.

Read More: Most Wickets in an IPL Season


#8. Dwayne Bravo

Dwayne Bravo

Dwayne Bravo won the purple cap for the second time in the 2015 season. CSK’s dominance in the list for all purple cap winners in IPL history is a very big reason for their dominance in the IPL. Bravo managed to pick up 26 wickets in 16 matches during that season.


#9 Bhuvneshwar Kumar

Bhuvneshwar Kumar Photo

Bhuvneshwar Kumar was not considered a good fast bowler for T20 cricket but he successfully developed himself into one. In the 2016 season, he dominated batman throughout and helped Sunrisers Hyderabad win the IPL trophy. Bhuvi managed to pick up 23 wickets in 17 matches during their title-winning campaign.

Read More: Bowlers to Bowled Most Maiden in IPL


#10 Bhuvneshwar Kumar

Bhuvneshwar Kumar is the only bowler in the history of IPL to defend his purple cap successfully. He defended his cap in the 2017 season when he took 26 wickets in 14 matches. He helped his team qualify for the playoffs but couldn’t win the trophy.


#11 Andrew Tye

Andrew Tye Photo

Australian fast bowler is in the list of all purple cap winners in IPL history due to his wonderful performance in the 2018 season. Andrew Tye was magnificent for Kings XI Punjab with his slowers, knuckleballs, and Yorkers. He managed to pick 24 wickets in 14 matches.

Read More: Top 5 Bowlers with Most 4 Wicket Hauls in IPL History


#12 Imran Tahir

Imran Tahir

The veteran South African leg spinner, Imran Tahir, won the purple cap for the first time in his career in the 2019 season when he managed to pick 26 wickets in 17 matches. Tahir who is more famous for his long sprinting celebration was magnificent for CSK but could not help them win the title as they lost it to Mumbai Indians in the final.