Most Sixes in IPL: Top 5 Batsmen Who Hits Most Sixes In IPL History

Most Sixes in IPL

Most Sixes in IPL

The big guns with those humongous hits have always been in the talk of the town when it comes to T20’s. India’s very own cricket league the Indian Premier League has seen various batsmen who are capable enough to smoke the ball out of the park.

The big hitters are a core component of every side that takes part in the competition, be it the household Indian names like MS Dhoni, Rohit Sharma, and Yuvraj Singh or the overseas names like Chris Gayle, David Warner, and Shane Watson.

Rank Player Span Mat Inns NO Runs HS Ave SR 6s 4s
1. Chris Gayle 2009-2019 125 124 15 4484 175* 41.13 151.02 326 368
2. AB de Villiers 2008-2019 154 142 32 4395 133* 39.95 151.23 212 357
3. MS Dhoni 2008-2019 190 170 65 4432 84* 42.2 137.85 209 297
4. Rohit Sharma 2008-2019 188 183 28 4898 109* 31.6 130.82 194 431
5. Suresh Raina 2008-2019 193 189 28 5368 100* 33.34 137.11 194 493

Top 5 Batsmen to Hit Most Sixes in IPL

Here’s a look at the Top 5 batsmen with the most number of sixes in the history of IPL:

#1 Chris Gayle (Sixes: 326)

IPL’s biggest show-stopper, Chris Gayle leads the chart when it comes to big-hitting. Gayle has the most number of sixes in people, in fact, he is the only player to have hit more than 300 sixes in the history of the tournament. Gayle storm has most often hit the opponents hard, Gayle has cleared the fences 326 times in 125 matches.

Gayle was unable to reach his potential with Kolkata Knight Riders in the first three seasons, eventually, he was released by the franchise and Royal Challengers Bangalore bought him in the upcoming auction. Bangalore seemed to be the ideal destination for the Jamaican beast as he finally unleashed his carnage and ever since has been one of the most feared batsmen in the league.

He is the only Batsmen with more than 300 sixes in the league and has the highest score of 175* to his name. 

#2 AB de Villiers (Sixes: 212)

AB de Villiers Most Sixes in IPL

At 2nd place is one of the most loved overseas cricketer in India, Mr. 360. AB de Villiers is known for his fearless approach in batting and the only batsmen who can hit a bowler to any part of the ground. South Africa’s one of the best sportsperson has been a core member of the RCB squad alongside Virat.

Watching the two bat together is a delight for any cricket fan. ABD has cleared the fence a whopping 212 times in 154 matches. He has the highest average amongst the top 5 big hitters of the league.

#3. MS Dhoni  (Sixes: 209)

MS Dhoni Most Sixes in IPL

World’s best finisher MS Dhoni finds himself 3rd on the list. He is just 3 sixes behind ABD in the list of most number of sixes in the cash-rich league. He has 209 sixes to his name in 190 matches.

209 sixes is a big number when you consider the fact that he comes in to bat at in the final few overs. Finishing matches with sixes is something that goes very well with India’s former Captain. He has been a part of the CSK setup from the inaugural season and is amongst the highest paid individuals in the league.

#4. Rohit Sharma (Sixes: 194)

Rohit Sharma

IPL’s most successful captain, Rohit Sharma has taken his team Mumbai Indians to newer heights. He is considered as one of the most talented batsmen in the country and ever since his promotion to the top order, he has devastated opponents with his stupendous batting display.

He has hit 194 sixes in 188 matches in the IPL. He currently stands fourth in the list of the highest number of sixes in the league. When it comes to International matches he is second to none and has a career-high score of 264 in One Day Internationals.

#5. Suresh Raina (Sixes: 194)

Suresh Raina Best knocks in IPL

IPL’s one of the most consistent batsmen, Suresh Raina finds himself at 5th in the most number of sixes list. He alongside MSD and Jadeja, are CSK’s, go-to man. He is amongst the best fielders in the league and is an elegant left-handed batsman who is a delight to watch. He has cleared the fence 194 times in 193 matches and has over 5000 thousand runs in the league. CSK has won the league 3 times and he has been a major reason for those victories.

India’s lucrative cricket league, the IPL has been home to big hitters since its very first day. The very first match back in 2008 saw KKR’s Brendon McCullum surpass the 150 run mark with some big hits against RCB. Ever since that day, it has been raining sixes in the IPL. The Indian Premier League has witnessed some astonishing six-hitting carnages, one of which was a Gayle storm that took place on 23 April 2013 when Gayle cleared the fence 17 times in an innings.

Leave a Reply