IPL 2020: Ranking the Spin Bowling Attacks of all 8 Teams


The auctions for the 13th edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) were recently concluded where all the franchises went on to tick the unticked boxes of their sides. In this, some of the teams succeeded tremendously while others still stay on the same track.

One of the biggest aspects to cover for the franchises is having a good spin bowling attack. This is because most of the Indian grounds come with pitches that are slightly slowish and sluggish in nature which ultimately helps the spinners.

So, let’s look at where all the 8 teams stand in terms of their spin bowling attacks ahead of IPL 2020:

Chennai Super Kings:

Imran Tahir, Mitchell, Piyush Chawla, R Sai Kishore, Harbhajan Singh, Ravindra Jadeja, Karn Sharma, and Kedar Jadhav

Chennai Super Kings

The side which comes with the best spin attack in IPL 2020 is unarguably CSK. They did not disturb their attack from the previous edition but added even more experience to that in the form of Piyush Chawla. As they will play their home match at Chepauk, it will be a delight for them to play even up to three spinners.

Delhi Capitals:

Sandeep Lamichhane, Axar Patel, Ravi Ashwin, Lalit Yadav, and Amit Mishra

Delhi Capitals

Delhi already had a lot of good spin bowling options in their side before this season and after they got Ashwin transferred from KXIP, it became even more lethal. It won’t be wrong to say that they have one of the best spin bowling lineups this year with the likes of Mishra, Lamichanne, and Patel to support Ashwin.

Kings XI Punjab:

Options available: Mujeeb-ur-Rahman, Glenn Maxwell, J. Suchith, Harpreet Brar, Ravi Bishnoi, Tajinder Dhillon, Murugan Ashwin, Krishnappa Gowtham and Deepak Hooda:


KXIP has a good bunch of spinners in their side where a majority of them are youngsters. They roped in Gowtham and M Ashwin in their side who might get a fair amount of games to play along with Rahman who is expected to lead the spin department after they let go off Ravi Ashwin.

Kolkata Knight Riders:

Options available: Sunil Narine, Chris Green, Kuldeep Yadav, Pravin Tambe, Varun Chakravarthy, M Siddharth, and Nitish Rana:

Kolkata Knight Riders

KKR enters this edition with one of the best spin departments in IPL 2020 where they a great number of options. Where Narine and Yadav were already in their side, they have also added the likes of Chakravarthy and Tambe to provide even more depth to this department.

Mumbai Indians:

Anukul Roy, Jayant Yadav, Rahul Chahar, and Krunal Pandya

Mumbai Indians

The defending champions have one of the weakest spin bowling lineups in the entire IPL where they neither have an overseas spinner nor any experienced Indian spin bowler. They have the likes of Chahar and Yadav in their side to lead the attack with the part-time spin bowling of Krunal Pandya but this lacks some experience in their spin department.

Rajasthan Royals:

Mahipal Lomror, Shashank Singh, Riyan Parag, Rahul Tewatia, Shreyas Gopal, Mayank Markande and Anirudha Joshi

The same problem that is there with the Mumbai Indians is also present with the Rajasthan Royals which is the lack of a good overseas spinner along with an experienced Indian slow bowler. Although they have Shreyas Gopal in their side who performed exceptionally well last year the lack of international experience can clearly be seen in their spin department.

Royal Challengers Bangalore:

Moeen Ali, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, and Pawan Negi

RCB has a quite decent spin attack which is similar to the last year as there is no new face added to that. All of their spinners have a huge amount of international experience and have also proved their worth almost everywhere. They are likely to have Chahal in the lead role alongside Sundar to support him.

Sunrisers Hyderabad:

Fabien Allen, Mohammad Nabi, Rashid Khan, Shahbaz Nadeem, Abhishek Sharma, Sandeep Bavanaka and Abdul Samad

Although they don’t have a lot of big names in their side having Rashid Khan in their squad makes them one of the most settled ones in the entire IPL 2020. They won’t be able to play Nabi in most of the matches as they already have the 4 spots of overseas players covered with Williamson, Warner, Bairstow, and Rashid.