Dhoni, Rohit miss out in Wisden’s T20I Team of the Decade

The year has almost come to an end and so as the decade. It is that time of the year again to release the Teams of the Year or the Decade. And, Wisden have announced the T20I team of the decade where surprisingly Rohit Sharma and Indian wicket-keeper batsman MS Dhoni missed out. Australian skipper Aaron Finch named captain in the T20I team of the decade.

Despite being the  second-highest scorer in T20Is after Virat Kohli, with 2392 runs, there was no place for Rohit in the side. There is no place for former Indian skipper MS Dhoni as well, who has led India immensely well in the shortest format of the game over the decade.

According to the line-up, Finch and New Zealand batsman Collin Munro has been picked as the openers with Virat Kohli coming at number 3.  Finch scored 1878 runs in this decade at an impressive strike rate of 156.50 and on the other hand, Munro scored 1546 runs at a staggering strike rate of 160.04 and an average of 30.92 between 2010-19.

Indian captain Kohli’s numbers are staggering as well in this decade. He scored  2633 runs and averages a stunning 52.66 in the shortest format of the game. He is also the leading run-scorer in T20Is of this decade.

Apart from Finch, two more Australian players are also present in the side. All-rounder Shane Watson and hard-hitter Glenn Maxwell are also included in the side.


England’s Jos Buttler is the wicketkeeper of the side as the talisman scored 1260 runs at a healthy strike rate of 138.50 while Afghanistan all-rounder Mohammad Nabi i and leg-spinner Rashid Khan also get a place in the side. Nabi scored 1316 runs at a strike rate of 145.89 and scalped 69 wickets in the decade. Rashid had a decade to remember as he picked up 84 wickets at an impressive economy rate of 6.15.

England all-rounder David Willey, who took 34 wickets in this decade also got a place in the side with two amazing yorker specialist bowlers Lasith Malinga and Jasprith Bumrah coming up next. Bumrah took 51 wickets at an excellent economy of 6.71, whereas Malinga claimed 82 wickets in this decade.

Wisden T20I team of the decade: Aaron Finch (c), Colin Munro, Virat Kohli, Shane Watson, Glenn Maxwell, Jos Buttler (wk), Mohammad Nabi, David Willey, Rashid Khan, Jasprit Bumrah, Lasith Malinga.