Why Big Players like Ab De Villiers and Virat Kohli haven’t won single IPL trophy till date?


Ab de Villiers started his IPL journey from the first edition of the cash-rich league with Delhi Daredevils currently known as Delhi Capitals but in the next year he was picked by Royal Challengers Bangalore since then he has been a key player for Bangalore based franchise.

Kohli too had a similar story as he has been associated with the same franchise since its inception and recently became the first player in the history of IPL to play 200 games for one side.

Despite several achievements in their respective career they both have failed to win a single IPL trophy till date which also includes De Villier’s record when he was with Delhi. Let us ponder some of the facts about their inability to win IPL title in detail:

  1. Batting Lineup: RCB batting lineup mostly revolve around Kohli and De Villiers despite having so many big names in playing X1 they don’t perform consistently which is the biggest reason RCB has the record of the highest and lowest total of IPL.
  2. All Rounders: In all these years what they have lacked is quality all-rounders like Marcus Stonis, Ravindra Jadeja, Sam Curran, and Ben Stokes who can give you bat pretty well and give you the extended option as a bowler.
  3. Captaincy: It is another factor where RCB has lacked over the years as Virat’s tactical ability has been questioned by several experts in the pressure moments of the game.
  4. Lack of Persistence: If RCB hasn’t won any IPL title it has so much to do with their lack of persistence with fine talents as they release them next rather than giving them one more season which MI does really well and that’s why they are extremely successful franchise in IPL history.

However, RCB had a good chance of winning the title this year as they have all the bases covered in the ongoing IPL edition and it will be interesting to see that whether Bangalore based franchise successfully breaks the jinx of winning the title this year or not.