IPL 2020: Best RCB XI for the Upcoming Season


Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) is the one team that failed to win the Indian Premier League (IPL) title so far. After losing to the Sunrisers Hyderabad in the final of 2016 edition, they finished nearly at the bottom in 2017, 2018 and 2019 season. With some new faces, they will try to bounce back this season.

Despite having Indian captain Virat Kohli and former South Africa player AB de Villiers in the squad, their batting failed to impress every time. Even their bowling is also a major cause of concern. However, they have bought some key players in the auction. RCB retained most of their core members and bought Australia’s limited-overs captain, as well as, opener Aaron Finch, all-rounder Chris Morris and pacer Kane Richardson.

Let’s have a look at the best possible combination for the upcoming season.

Openers: Parthiv Patel and Aaron Finch

Keeping his form in T20 cricket in mind, Aaron Finch can be seen as one of the openers of RCB in the upcoming season. Parthiv Patel, on the other hand, will be Finch’s opening partner. Devdutt Padikkal, the dashing youngster from Karnataka is also on the radar after his great domestic season.

Parthiv Patel Photo

However, the team management has another option in the young Australian flamboyant keeper Joshua Philippe in the XI. If they want to go with the left-right combination then Parthiv Patel and Aaron Finch will be a good choice for the team who can provide a flying start.

Middle-orders: Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers, Shivam Dube, Gurkeerat Mann, and Chris Morris

Captain Virat Kohli is one of the key players for the team. He is expected to bat at number 3 position. His swashbuckling form can help the side to put up a good total as well as to chase them. Along with him, there is AB de Villiers who is considered as the 360-degree batsman in the cricketing circuit for his caliber.

Virat Kohli

Big-hitter Shivam Dube will be the number 5 batsman for his side. His ability to switch gears with ease and attack the spinners in the middle overs can be valuable for the Bangalore based franchise in the upcoming season. Gurkeerat Mann can come at number 6 in the order who has the ability to play the role of a finisher.

However, there will be Chris Morris whose all-round ability can turn the table anytime. He can score runs quickly in the lower-order. If the situations become tricky, he can finish the job with Mann and Dube. Also, his decent pace bowling can be important in both the powerplay and the death overs as well.

Bowlers: Washington Sundar, Kane Richardson, Umesh Yadav, Navdeep Saini, Yuzvendra Chahal

RCB has a strong bowling line up where they will get the service of players like Washington Sundar, Kane Richardson, Umesh Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, etc. While Umesh Yadav has been going through a red hot form in the longer format of the game, Yuzvendra Chahal is considered as one of the best spinners in recent times. He can pose a great threat in front of the opponents.

Umesh Yadav can take wickets in the powerplay with the new ball. He will lead the pace attack with Chris Morris. They have another pacer – Kane Richardson who is a consistent wicket-taker for Australia in the shortest format of the game over the last few years. His inclusion can be impactful in the death overs which the team has been lacking over the years.

Navdeep Saini

However, they have another pace bowling option in the form of Navdeep Saini. The youngster has already impressed in the last edition of the tournament. Moreover, his international debut was also impressive. His accurate line and length with the pace can trouble any batsman in the world. He can come in place of Richardson or Yadav as well if the situation needs.

Bangalore has the all-rounder Washington Sundar in their kitty. Along with Chahal, he will be another spinner of the team. His ability to bowl in the powerplay and hit big shots make him a key player for the side and also in the playing XI. Shivam Dube can be their sixth bowling option.

Probable Playing XI

Aaron Finch, Parthiv Patel (WK), Virat Kohli (C), AB de Villiers, Shivam Dube, Gurkeerat Mann, Chris Morris, Washington Sundar, Kane Richardson, Umesh Yadav/Navdeep Saini, Yuzvendra Chahal

Full Squad of RCB for IPL 2020

Virat Kohli (Captain), AB de Villiers, Gurkeerat Mann, Devdutt Padikkal, Aaron Finch, Yuzvendra Chahal, Mohammed Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Navdeep Saini, Kane Richardson, Dale Steyn, Isuru Udana, Moeen Ali, Pawan Negi, Shivam Dube, Washington Sundar, Chris Morris, Pavan Deshpande, Parthiv Patel, Joshua Philippe, Shahbaz Ahamad