Indian Badminton Stars Shine as Medalists at the Asian Games

Asian Games

The Badminton Asia Championships have a long history, spanning over sixty years, starting from 1962 when it first took place. From 1962 to 2022, there have been 39 Badminton Asia Individual Championships encounters, and India has achieved one gold and 17 bronze medals. Below is the list of Indian players who have earned medals in the Badminton Asia Championships.

Also read: Simon Atai Biography: Personal Life, Career, Playing Style, Age & Facts

Men’s Singles

Dinesh Khanna (1965, 1969)

Dinesh Khanna became the trailblazer for India, clinching the gold in Badminton Asia Championships by defeating Thailand’s Sangob Rattanusorn. He then secured a bronze in 1969, making him the first Indian player to achieve back-to-back medals at the continental event.

Suresh Goel (1969)

Suresh Goel was the first Indian player to win a bronze medal in the Badminton Asian Championships in 1965. Additionally, Goel has been the national champion with five consecutive titles in both singles and doubles categories.

Prakash Padukone (1976)

Prakash Padukone, a former world no.1 in badminton, secured a bronze medal at the Badminton Asia Championships in 1976. 

Pullela Gopichand (2000)

Pullela Gopichand clinched a bronze at the Asian tournament in 2000 and emerged as the second Indian to claim victory in the All England Open Badminton Championships in 2001.

Anup Sridhar (2007)

In 2007, Anup Sridhar secured a bronze medal at the Badminton Asia Championships, making him the fourth Indian to achieve this feat.

H.S Prannoy (2018)

H.S. Prannoy claimed bronze at the Badminton Asia Championships in 2018 and in the Commonwealth Games.

Women’s Singles

Meena Shah (1965)

Back in 1965, Meena Shah became the first Indian woman to clinch a medal at the Badminton Asia Championships, winning a bronze.

Saina Nehwal (2010, 2016 & 2018)

Saina Nehwal, an iconic figure in Indian badminton, has been incredibly successful throughout her career. As a former world number 1 badminton player, she has won numerous tournaments worldwide. At the Badminton Asia Championships, Nehwal secured three bronze medals – one in 2010, one in 2016, and one in 2018.

PV Sindhu (2014 & 2022)

PV Sindhu rose to fame with a bronze medal at the 2014 Badminton Asia Championships. In the 2022 edition, she added another medal to her collection.

Men’s Doubles

Dipu Ghosh and Raman Ghosh (1971)

Dipu Ghosh and Raman Ghosh, famously known as the Ghosh brothers, were a formidable pair during their era. They etched their names in history as the first Indian men’s doubles duo to secure a hunk of bronze at the Badminton Asia Championships.

Syed Modi and Prakash Padukone (1978)

Two legends of Indian badminton, Syed Modi and Prakash Padukone, known for their exceptional singles prowess, joined forces to claim the bronze in the Badminton Asia Championships in 1978.

Women’s Doubles

Jwala Gutta and Ashwini Ponnappa (2014)

Jwala Gutta and Ashwini Ponnappa formed one of the finest Indian women’s doubles partnerships in history. They proudly won the bronze at the Asia Championships in 2014.