India-Australia Test Series: 3 Indian Players to retire from Test Cricket after Last Match in Gujarat

Kl Rahul

The 4th match of the Border-Gavaskar Trophy is scheduled to be played on March 9. India is dominating the series with 2-1 by winning the initial two matches. However, Australia made a solid comeback in the third test match of the series held at Indore. After the final test of the Border-Gavaskar Trophy, some Indian players may bid adieu to the Test format.

Following are the players who may say goodbye to Test Cricket.

*Mohammed Shami: India’s top-rated right-arm fast bowler has been at the prime of his life. He has haunted batsmen with his sheer pace. However, his recent performance is not up to the mark. He has got only 7 wickets in two games and an average of 14.42.

Even last year, Shami’s performance was not something to be expected from him. He picked only 13 wickets in 10 innings of 5 tests.

In addition to his performance, his replacements like Mohammed Siraj are doing good. Hence, Shami may think of retiring after 4th test match.

*Jaydev Unadkat: Unadkat could be another player to retire from the test format. He made his comeback after a long span of almost 10 years against Bangladesh.

Despite making comeback after a huge gap, Unadkat has failed to contribute much to the team. He has been able to pick up only 3 wickets in one test match during the series.

Considering his performance, he might also retire from test cricket.

*KL Rahul: Rahul has been continuously failing to score big for a long time. Despite being given enough chances to prove himself, Rahul failed in almost every game. Keeping his performance in to mind, he was dropped from the test match after failing in two consecutive tests. Not just that, his poor performance also cost him from the vice-captain.

Rahul has scored only 95 across 7 innings with a poor average of 13.57. His top score is just 23.

Keeping his continuous failure in tests, he might the first player to choose to say goodbye to Test Cricket after the 4th match of the Border-Gavaskar Trophy.