The “Hundred” league: Teams, Logos, Local players, Men & Women Cricketers

The Hundred league has finally disclosed the team logos, local players and men and women cricketer’s name. Both men and women competition will be played side by side. Each of the 8 teams will have the rights to pick one English test player and two local players on Thursday.

The names of the 8 franchises are as follows:-

Northern Super Chargers

English superstar all-rounder Ben Stokes has been grabbed by Northern Superchargers- a headingly-based team that represent Yorkshire and Durham. Adil Rashid and David Willey are chosen as local icons for the team. In women’s, the central contracted player Lauren Winfield and Linsey Smith will be the part of the squad.

Oval Invincibles

Test opener Jason Roy and his local team Surrey teammates Sam Curran and Tom Curran are chosen as icons in the men’s category. In women’s category Laura Marsh and Fran Wilson are the chosen central contract players to represent Oval Invincibles.

Southern Brave

Southern Brave will be the franchise to watch out for, they picked Jofra Archer, the central contract player. He will be accompanied by James Vince and pacer Chris Jordan as local players.

In women’s section opener, Danielle Wyatt and fast bowler Anya Shrubsole are included in the squad.

Trent Rockets

Trent Rockets will feature England test skipper Joe Root as the central contract player. Alex Hales and Harry Gurney are chosen as local stars.

In women’s section all-rounder, Natalie Sciver and Katherine Brunt will be representing the Trent Rockets.

Welsh Fire

The face of the Welsh Fire will be Jonny Bairstow as a central contract player, who will be accompanied by local heroes Tom Banton and South African star Colin Ingram.

In the women’s section, Katie George and Bryony Smith will represent Welsh Fire as central contracted players.

Birmingham Phoenix

Chris Woakes is the contract red ball player pic for Birmingham Phoenix, Pat Brown and Moeen Ali, the man behind Birmingham Beers in the T20 blast are chosen as the local players for the franchise.

In the women’s section, Amy Jones and Kirstie Gordon will be the centrally contracted player to represent Birmingham Phoenix.

London Spirit

London Spirit has made a great move by picking central contract red ball player Rory Burns in the squad. Dan Lawrence and England’s World Cup-winning skipper Eoin Morgan has been chosen the local player.

In women’s section, Heather Knight and Freya Davies will be the red ball central contract player to represent London Spirit.

Manchester Originals

Joss Butler will be the face of Manchester Originals, he will represent the franchise as red ball central contract player. Saqib Mahmood and Matt Parkinson are chosen as local icons.

In women section, Sophie Ecclestone and Kate will represent the Manchester Originals as red ball central contract players.

Cross will lead the Women’s franchise.

What’s Next?

Other members of the squad will be decided at the first-ever players draft that will be held on October 20.

Leave a Reply