Pro Hockey League 2020: P Sreejesh leads India’s win in 2nd leg

Thanks to brilliance by P Sreejesh in the penalty shootouts, India defeated Australia in the 2nd leg of the Pro Hockey League match played at Kalinga Stadium, Bhuvneshwar on Saturday.

Australia got off to a fast start as they earned a penalty corner less than 30 seconds which was well saved by P Sreejesh with his pad. The Australian team  With 8 minutes and 4 seconds remaining, Australia earned 2 successive penalty corners. The 2nd penalty corner was smacked by Sharp into a goal, but India decided to review, and the goal was disallowed. In the 12th minute, Australia were awarded the penalty corner and Manpreet Singh decided to review the decision. Hayward hit a strong shot but saved by P Sreejesh. The scores remained 0-0 at the end of first quarter.

It could have been an ideal start for India as a brilliant pass from Rohidas but Jarmanpreet missed a chance to score the goal. In the 3rd minute, a penalty corner shot by Hayward which was deemed high and India had ball. Trent Milton scored field goal in the 23rd minute as the ball went under the keeper to give Australia 1-0 lead. India levelled with a brilliant penalty corner drag flick shot by Rupinder Pal Singh in the 25th minute. 2 minutes later, Harmanpreet Singh scored from a penalty corner which gave India 2-1 lead and maintained the lead till the first half.

It was an ideal start for Australia in the 3rd quarter as they earned 2 successive penalty corners. The umpire gave a penalty stroke and Tim Brand hit the shot wide. Indian captain Manpreet Singh got a green card. Both teams had chances to score a goal but did not convert. At the end of third quarter, the scores remained 2-1 in favour of India.

Zalewski scored a brilliant field goal in the 46th minute to level the scores at 2-2. It was a superb effort by both teams who had chances of scoring goals. With 11 seconds remaining, Australia earned a penalty corner and decided to review the decision. The umpire upheld the decision and the scores remained 2-2.

In the penalty shootout, Beale took the first shot from Australia and P Sreejesh did a foul to give the visitors penalty stroke. Dawson converted penalty stroke to give visitors 1-0 lead. Harmanpreet Singh converted it into a goal to level the shootout at 1-1. The second shot was fouled by Sreejesh and was awarded 2nd penalty stroke which was missed by Beale. Vivek Prasad and Lalit Upadhyay hit the shot for India. Beale and Ephramus shots were saved P Sreejesh . Jake Harvey hit the goal after 8 seconds to give India 3-1 win and a bonus point.

India will play their fourth-round matches against Germany on 25th and 26th April in Berlin.