Hockey India Names Junior Women’s Squad For Tri-Nation Tournament In Australia

Hockey India has announced an 18-member squad for the 3-nation tournament which will be held from 3rd to 8th December 2019 in Canberra, Australia. Other than India, the two teams that will sweat out in the competition will be hosts Australia and New Zealand.

The tournament will kick off with the hosts facing New Zealand in the first game. The Indian team will be seen in action for the first time on December 4.

Hockey India has named Suman Devi Thoudam as the captain of the team and Ishika Choudhary has been named as her deputy.

Suman, who plays as a defender, was a part of the 20-member squad of India on the Spain Tour where India had beaten Spain 4-1 in a 5-match series. She also had made a major contribution for India in the Asia Cup 2017.

In the Asia Cup 2017, India had conceded only 5 goals in the 6-match tournament and she was the one of the main reasons behind the solid performance of India’s defense. India had won that tournament to earn a qualifying spot in the Hockey World Cup.

Baljeet Singh, the coach of the India team, said that the team will have to face a tough challenge in Australia. However, he added that the team is ready for it as they have learnt a lot from the games against Ireland and Belarus they played recently. The Indian coach also stated that the team has a good pool of players in defense as well as in the forward lineup. 

Here is the squad that India have announced:

Bichu Devi Kharibam, Rashanpreet Kaur, Suman Devi Thoudam (captain), Ishika Chaudhary (vice-captain), Priyanka, Mahima Choudhary, Marina Lalramnghaki, Gagandeep Kaur, Prabhleen Kaur, Mariana Kujur, Chetna, Reet, Baljeet Kaur, Ajmina Kujur, Beauty Dungdung, Sharmila Devi, Deepika, Lalrindiki

Leave a Reply