AFC Ajax History, Ownership, Squad members, Support Staff and Honors


AFC Ajax, also known as the Sons of the Gods, is a Dutch professional Football club. They participate in the Netherlands Football League championship, Eredivisie, KNVB Cup and the Champions League. 


Ajax was founded 119 years ago on 18th March 1900 in the Netherlands. The name Ajax was taken from a figure in Greek Mythology. After the establishment of the club, it didn’t take them a long time to have early success in the presence of Jack Reynolds who managed the club from 1915 to 1947.

During this period, the club clinched more than eight League titles and two KNVB Cups. After Jack Reynolds, Michels and Johan Cruyff installed the famous philosophy of “Total Football” in the club.

The philosophy proved worthy as Ajax claimed three consecutive European Cups from 1971 to 1973 and in doing so became one of the five clubs to successfully defend the trophy. Till the departure of Cruyff and Neesken, Ajax dominated the European Football.

Club Ownership

The club which is worth 352 Million Euros at the moment registered itself as a company listed on the stock exchange Euronext Amsterdam.

The club earns profit through ticket sales as well as by competing in National, Continental as well as Global football.

It also earns a lot of money through advertising, selling broadcasting rights and merchandise. Hennie Henrichs is the current Chairman and CEO of the Club.

Since the club’s origin, it has changed its home ground six times. Currently, the Amsterdam Arena serves as the home ground of the club from 1996.


Name Position Age
Erik ten Hag Head Coach 49
Alfred Schreuder Assistant Coach 46
Aron Winter Assistant Coach 52
Richard Witschge Assistant Coach  50
Carlo l’Ami Goalkeeping Coach  53


Name  Position Jersey No.
K. Huntelaar Forward 9
L. Traoré Forward 23
H. Ziyech Forward 22
D. Neres Forward 7
H. Bandé Forward 32
Q. Promes Forward 11
D. Tadic Forward 10
S. de Jong Midfielder 15
Noa Lang Midfielder 27
Z. Labyad Midfielder 19
D. van de Beek Midfielder 6
J. Ekkelenkamp Midfielder 26
R. Gravenberch Midfielder 29
R. Marin Midfielder 18
C. Eiting Midfielder 8
S. Dest Defender 28
J. Veltman Defender 3
Noussair Mazraoui Defender 12
Nicolás Tagliafico Defender 31
K. Pierie Defender 5
Perr Schuurs Defender 2
André Onana GoalKeeper 24
Bruno Varela GoalKeeper 1
Kjell Scherpen GoalKeeper 35
Benjamin van Leer GoalKeeper



The club holds

  • 34 Eredvisie titles
  • 19 KNVB Cup titles


The Club holds

  • 3 European Champion titles
  • 1 Champion League title
  • 1 UEFA Cup title
  • 2 Intercontinental Cup titles
  • 1 Cup Winners Cup title
  • 3 UEFA Super Cup title


Join us:
facebook logo youtube logo twitter logo instagram logo pinterest logo telegram logo

Leave a Reply