Ranji Trophy 2022/23 : Saurashtra win their 2nd First-class title!

Ranji Trophy 202223 Saurashtra win their 2nd First-class title!.png

The 88th edition of the Ranji Trophy 2022/23 has come to an end and Saurashtra after winning their maiden first class trophy in 2019/20 has become 2-time champions at Bengal’s den Eden gardens. The visiting team registered a 10-wicket victory against the same opponents they had defeated in their maiden Ranji trophy final appearance.

Saurashtra led by Jaydev Unadkat won the toss and elected to bowl first. Manoj Tiwary led Bengal did not have a good start to the game as openers Sumanta Gupta and Abhimanyu Easwaran (openers) were out for 1 and 0 respectively, while Sudip Kumar Gharami (second down) was also out for 0 and Bengal were 2/3 in 1.4 overs. The next three batters were also unable to handle the situation.

Just 40 runs were scored between Anustup Majumdar, Captain Manoj Tiwary, and Akash Ghatak as they were all caught for 16, 7, and 17 runs, respectively. At that time, it appeared unlikely that Bengal would be able to surpass the 150-run threshold, but Shahbaz Ahmed and wicketkeeper batter Abhishek Porel steadied their ship by teaming up for 101 runs.

Later on in Saurashtra 1st innings, Harvik Desai, Jay Gohil, Vishvaraj Jadeja, Sheldon Jackson, Arpit Vasavada, Chirag Jani and Prerak Mankad produced crucial knocks to help Saurashtra put up a mammoth total of 404 on the board.

Bengal on the other hand succumbed to the pressure and their middle-order partnerships between Anustup Majumdar, Manoj tiwary and Shahbaz Ahmed but Bengal were soon folded out for 241 runs. And that meant Saurashtra had to chase down a total of 12 runs.Β 

Harvik Desai and Vishvaraj Jadeja chased down an embarrassing target of 12 with the latter scoring the winning runs.