Marseille History, Ownership, Support Staff, Squad members and Honors

Marseille also known as The Olympians is an Italian Football Club. They participate in Ligue 1, Coupe de France and Coupe de la Ligue.


The club was officially founded in 1892 but Football was introduced in 1899. In 1923 the club won its first title as Coupe de France trophies which they again conquered in 1924, 1926 and 1927.

In 1928 the club won its first La Liga title and following it three Coupe de France between 1935-48. The club’s first era of dominance arrived towards the end of the 60s after the president Marcel Leclerc resign. The club claimed two La Liga titles and two Coupe de France.

The appointment of Bernard Tapie as the new president of the club brought fortunes for the club. The club assembled a team of great players like Jean-Pierre Papin, Didier Deschamps and Eric Cantona which won the first Champions League for the club.

After winning the Champions League the Club in the meantime, dominated the domestic competitions winning four Ligue 1 titles and one Coupe de France.

But following a match-fixing scandal in 1994 the club as stripped from Ligue 1 to Ligue 2 that lead Tapie leaving the club with turbulence behind. After he left the club won their Ligue 1 title after 18 years in 2010.

Club Ownership

The ownership of the club is in the hands of American businessman Frank McCourt. On 17th October in 2016, he completed the deal of purchasing the club for a price tag of 45 million euros.

The Stade Velodrome serves the club as their home ground. Located in Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone, France the stadium has a net capacity to hold 67,394 spectators.

The current net worth of the club is 226.65 Million Euros.


Name  Position Age
Andre Villas Boas Manager 42
Claude Assistant Coach 50
Ricardo Assistant Coach 41
Wil Coort Goalkeeping Coach 50


Name  Position Jersey
D. Payet Forward 10
N. Radonjic Forward 7
M. Ake Forward 36
F. Thauvin Forward 26
I. Lihadji Forward 38
D. Benedetto Forward 9
V. Germain Forward 28
K. Strootman Midfielder 12
G. Sertic Midfielder 22
A. Phliponeau Midfielder 34
M. sanson Midfielder 8
V. rongier Midfielder 21
M. Lopez Midfielder 27
S. Khaoul Midfielder 24
F. Chabrolle Midfielder 29
B. Kamara Defender 4
D. Caleta-Car Defender 15
A. Gonzalez Defender 3
L. Perrin Defender 32
J. Amavi Defender 18
H. Sakai Defender 2
B. Sarr Defender 17
A. Mohamed Defender 31
S. mandanda Goalkeeper 30
Y. Pele Goalkeeper 16
A. Dia Goalkeeper 40
S. ngapandouetnbu Goalkeeper 1



The Club holds

  • 10 Ligue 1 titles
  • 10 Coupe de France titles
  • 3 Coupe de la Ligue titles


The Club holds

  • 1 UEFA Champions League title
  • 1 UEFA Intertoto Cup








Leave a Reply