How many countries can participate in Commonwealth Games 2022? Full List of countries participating in CWG 2022

CWG full list of nation

How many countries can participate in Commonwealth Games 2022?

Commonwealth countries

Commonwealth Games is a numerous sports major tournament just like Olympics games and Asian games. In 1930, Commonwealth Games were once called the British Empire games as it was introduced by the Britishers. Melville Marks Robinson introduced the games as the British Empire Games which were first held in 1930, in Hamilton, Canada.

Only Nations and their territories that are part of the Commonwealth are eligible to participate in the major tournament.

In the first edition of the commonwealth games which was hosted in Hamilton, Only 11 countries and territories have taken part in the major event. The following nations were Canada (Host), Australia, Bermuda, British Guiana, England, New Zealand, Scotland, South Africa, Ireland, Wales, and Newfoundland.

Commonwealth Games 2022: Full List of Indian Athletes Qualified for CWG 2022

Commonwealth Games is a non-compulsory group of 54 emperor countries. Although, Over the years nations’ members change over the years due to political issues, and also some nations backed out for political reasons.

In the year 1934 and 1938 Commonwealth games, the Britishers and Indians participated as one team. Do you know why? Because in 1958 Britisher first started ruling India and by the British rules, Indians were forced to participate under one team until 1947 when India becomes finally a free democratic nation.

Similarly, India and Pakistan participated as one team at the 1945 Commonwealth games, and Bangladesh started participating in 1978 after getting its independence from Pakistan in 1971.

The last edition of the Commonwealth Games saw a total of 71 teams/nations participate at Gold Coast, Australia 2018, and in the latest edition of Commonwealth Games 2022 a total of 72 teams/ nations will be taking part in Birmingham, UK. One added team will be the Maldives who missed the Commonwealth Games in 2016 and missed the Gold Coast in 2018.

Commonwealth Games 2022: Full List of countries participating in CWG 2022

Here’s the list of nations in CWG 2022:

  1. Anguilla
  2. Antigua and Barbuda
  3. Australia
  4. Bahamas
  5. Bangladesh 
  6. Barbados
  7. Belize
  8. Bermuda
  9. Botswana
  10. British Virgin Islands
  11. Brunei
  12. Cameroon
  13. Canada
  14. Cayman Islands
  15. Cook Islands
  16. Cyprus
  17. Dominica
  18. England
  19. Eswatini
  20. Falkland Islands
  21. Fiji
  22. Ghana
  23. Gibraltar
  24. Grenada
  25. Guernsey
  26. Guyana
  27. India
  28. Isle of Man
  29. Jamaica
  30. Jersey
  31. Kenya
  32. Kiribati
  33. Lesotho
  34. Malawi
  35. Malaysia
  36. Maldives
  37. Malta
  38. Mauritius
  39. Montserrat
  40. Mozambique
  41. Namibia
  42. Nauru
  43. New Zealand
  44. Nigeria
  45. Niue
  46. Norfolk Island
  47. Northern Ireland
  48. Pakistan
  49. Papua New Guinea
  50. Rwanda
  51. Samoa
  52. Scotland
  53. Seychelles
  54. Sierra Leone
  55. Singapore
  56. Solomon Islands
  57. South Africa
  58. Sri Lanka
  59. St Helena
  60. St Kitts and Nevis
  61. St Lucia
  62. St Vincent and the Grenadines
  63. Tanzania
  64. The Gambia
  65. Tonga
  66. Trinidad and Tobago
  67. Turks and Caicos Islands
  68. Tuvalu
  69. Uganda
  70. Vanuatu
  71. Wales
  72. Zambia