Ricky Ponting expresses disappointment after Stoinis’ omission


Australia batsman Marcus Stoinis had a tournament to remember so far in the ongoing Big Bash League (BBL). He has been exceptional with the bat throughout the tournament and has played a crucial part in helping Melbourne Stars to finish at the top of the table. Stoinis scored more than 600+ runs so far in the tournament.

stoinis-australiaStoinis finished as the tournament’s highest run-getter with 612 runs at an impressive average of 55.63 in the league stage. The dynamic batsman also broke the BBL record for the highest individual score, belting an unbeaten 147 from 79 balls at the MCG last month, and was also crowned the Player of the Tournament.

However, it was still not enough for Stoinis to make it to the Australian squad as he has been not selected into the ODI and T20I squad for the upcoming Australia’s tour of South Africa.

ricky-ponting-ipl-2020Former Australia captain Ricky Ponting expressed his disappointment and believes no one deserved more than Stoinis to be in the squad for the upcoming series.

“He’s unlucky on the back of being in sensational form, Stoinis, but all he can do is keep scoring runs and keep throwing his name up there for selection. It is harsh on Stoinis but he has just got to keep performing, I just don’t think there was room for both Stoinis and Mitch Marsh in those squads and they’ve decided to go with Marsh,” he said.

On the other hand, Ponting is happy with the T20I squad and believes continuity in the T20 team is important ahead of the World Cup.

“Continuity in the T20 team is really important and I don’t think there will be too many changes to that squad picked today ahead of the T20 World Cup,” he added.

Fast bowler Jhye Richardson has made it to the T20I squad while giving way for Josh Hazlewood in the 50-over format. The rest of the squad is the same, with Sean Abbott coming in for Marnus Labushagne in the ODIs.

T20I Squad: Aaron Finch (c), Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Alex Carey, Pat Cummins, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Jhye Richardson, Kane Richardson, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Adam Zampa.