All You Need to Know about Ram Slam T20 Challenge League

Ram Slam T20 Challenge

Ram Slam T20 Challenge

Ram Slam T20 premier league is the most popular cricket league in South Africa. Every season, a huge number of world class batsman participated in this circus of cricket. Many International players from around the world come to South Africa to play in this South African Cricket League, these cricketers make this tournament very tough and excited for the audience.

Cape CobrasCape Town and Paarl2
DolphinsDurban and Pietermaritzburg2
KnightsBloemfontein and Kimberley2
Highveld LionsJohannesburg and Potchefstroom2
TitansCenturion and Benoni6
WarriorsPort Elizabeth and East London1

The league format is pretty straightforward: double round-robin followed by the knockout round. The top four teams will participate in the semi finals, and the winners of the semi finals will play for the trophy in the final on 16th December.

A total of 33 T20s will be played between this period, including the knockouts. The first game will be between the Warriors and the Knights, on 10th November. Get the full schedule here.

Also, the shared prize money for this year’s spectators who manage to hold on to catches is a whopping R 2 million. Wow, that’s a lot of money!

The governing body that was originated in 1991 for professional cricket in South Africa is Cricket South Africa (CSA). It was originally created as United Cricket Board of South Africa. The first Ram Slam T20 Challenge tournament contested in the 2003-04 season. The tournament format is double round-robin, qualifier, and final. This tournament was formed with the idea to attract new fans to the sport and is considered the more viewer-friendly type of cricket. The match generally lasts for a couple of hours as it is fast-paced. It also helps the South African players to showcase their talent to the world and it has been a huge success from the beginning.

In season 2010-11, this league was known as Standard Bank Pro20 Series and in season 2011-12 it was renamed to MiWay T20 Challenge, in last season it was renamed as CSA T20 Challenge, and most recently renamed as Ram Slam T20 Challenge. The company Ram has been sponsoring them for over the years and that’s the reason they are renamed to Ram Slam T20 Challenge.

A total of 6 teams participate in the Ram Slam League, representing 6 different combined regions of South Africa. Over the years, the Titans (also known as Mutliply Titans) have been the most successful team of the T20 Challenge, having won the tournament on 4 separate occasions.

They won last year, beating the Warriors in the final, and bagged their second successive title. This means that in the 2017 season, they will not only be looking to defend their title but also be looking to complete a hat-trick of trophy wins!

Originally, this league was supposed to be played sometime in April-May 2018 due to the T20 Global League which was scheduled for November 2017. However, with the postponement of that league, the 2017 Ram Slam was able to get its normal season dates.

List of the Winners of all Seasons of Ram Slam T20 Challenge

In season 2008-09, it was decided that the winning team and the runner-up teams would qualify for the Champions League T20 until 2013-14 seasons. The Titans are the defending champions. However, the winner lists of all seasons of Ram Slam T20 Challenge League are as follows:-

SeasonWinnersRunner UpFinal Result
2003-04EaglesEastern CapeEagles won by 7 runs (D/L)
2004-05Titans WarriorsTitans won by 8 wickets
2005-06EaglesCape CobrasEagles won by 6 wickets
2006-07Highveld LionsCape CobrasHighveld Lions won by 6 wickets
2007-08Titans DolphinsTitans won by 18 runs
2008-09Cape CobrasEaglesCape Cobras won by 22 runs
2009-10WarriorsHighveld LionsWarriors won by 82 runs
2010-11Cape CobrasWarriorsCape Cobras won by 12 runs
2011-12Titans Highveld LionsTitans won by 45 runs
2012-13Highveld LionsTitansHighveld Lions won by 30 runs
2013-14 DolphinsCape CobrasDolphins won by 2 runs
 2014-15 Cape CobrasKnightsCape Cobras won by 33 runs
2015-16Titans DolphinsTitans won by 7 wickets
2016-17Titans WarriorsTitans won by 6 runs
2017-18Titans DolphinsTitans won by 7 wickets

The Ram Slam T20 Challenge League is expected to hold from 5th April to 5th May 2019. The most favorable team for this season is Titans, as they are 3 times consecutive winner and may win the fourth time too. The last season of Ram Slam League 2017-18 was held in November.

The Cricket South Africa has three major domestic competitions, which are the Sunfoil Series, the Momentum One Day Cup, and T20 Domestic Cup. South Africa is one of 12 countries that have sanction to play Test Cricket by International Cricket Council. South Africa became the third test nation when they played the first Test Match in England in 1888-89. In the year 1889-1890, South Africa’s played its first-class competition, which was known as Currie Cup.

Also Check : All You Need to Know about NatWest T20 Blast League

Leave a Reply