Mominul Haque Named The Test Captain of Bangladesh For India Tour

Hindustan Times

Mominul Haque, the left-handed top order batsman, has been named the test captain of Bangladesh for the series against India.

The Bangladesh selectors were forced to change the captain of the test as well the T20I side after Shakib Al Hasan, the regular captain of Bangladesh in the two formats, was handed a ban by the ICC.

Since, Mominul doesn’t generally play white ball formats for Bangladesh and is not a part of the T20I squad, Mahmudullah will take charge of the T20I squad.

Mahmudullah has captained Bangladesh in the past as well, but this is the first time Mominul will be leading the tigers. The 28-year old, who is an established member of the Bangladesh test side, averages more than 40 in test cricket.

Apart from the change in captaincy, some other changes have also been made both in the T20I and the test squad of Bangladesh. Some of the changes have created confusion as well.

On the place of Tamim Iqbal, who had let the selectors know he couldn’t travel to India because of the pregnancy of his wife, Aminul Islam has been brought into the T20I squad.

Earlier, it was announced that Tamim would be replaced by Imrul Kayes in the T20I squad, but now Aminul is going to be his replacement in the T20I squad, while Imrul has been picked in the test squad.

Shakib’s place in the T20I squad has been taken by the southpaw spinner Taijul Islam, while Abu Hider Rony, who bowls left arm seam, has also made it to the T20I squad due to the injury of Mohammed Saifuddin.

Here are the T20I and the test squad Bangladesh have announced for the India tour –

T20I squad: Soumya Sarkar, Mohammad Naim, Mahmudullah (c), Afif Hossain, Mosaddek Hossain, Aminul Islam, Liton Das, Mushfiqur Rahim, Arafat Sunny, Al-Amin Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Shaiful Islam, Abu Haider Rony, Mohammad Mithun, Taijul Islam

Test squad: Shadman Islam, Imrul Kayes, Saif Hasan, Mominul Haque (c), Liton Das, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah, Mohammad Mithun, Mossadek Hossain, Mehidy Hasan Miraj, Taijul Islam, Naeem Hasan, Mustafizur Rahman, Al Amin Hossain, Ebadot Hossain

Leave a Reply