List of Asian Games Medalists for India in Sailing


Sailing has been an Asian Games sport since the 1970 edition and has been held at every edition since, except for 1974. The Indian team has left a solid mark in Sailing as it has won a total of 20 medals in sailing at the Asian Games, including 1 gold, 7 silvers, and 12 bronzes. The country’s first Gold medal in sailing came in 1982 when Farokh Tarapore and Zarir Karanjia starred in the Asian Games in New Delhi.

Also Read: Asian Games 2023: India’s Squad of Sailing

India’s most successful sailor at the Asian Games is Farokh Tarapore, who has won three medals, including a gold. Other Indian sailors who have won multiple medals at the Asian Games include Nethra Kumanan Sanjeev Chauhan Girdhari Yadav Nitin Mongia.

India’s most recent medal in sailing at the Asian Games came in the 2018 Asian Sailing Championships, where Varsha Gautham and Sweta Shervegar won silver in the women’s 49er FX class.

Here is a list of all of India’s Asian Games medalists in sailing:
Farokh Tarapore (Fireball, 1982)
Zarir Karanjia (Fireball, 1982)

Nitin Mongia (OK, 2002)
Farokh Tarapore (470, 1986)
Dhruv Bhandari (470, 1986)
Surinder Mongia
Dharmendra Kumar
Jeejee Unwalla
Fali Unwalla

Soli Contractor
Afsar Hussain

India is a rising force in sailing in Asia, and the country is expected to continue to improve its medal tally in future Asian Games.
In the 2023 Asian Games, which will be held in China, India will be looking to improve on its medal tally of 20 medals. The Indian sailing team has been training hard for the Games, and they are confident of winning medals in several events.

The team is led by Devyani Dadhich, who is a two-time Asian Games medalist. Dadhich is a strong contender for a medal in the Laser Radial class. Other medal contenders for India include Nethra Kumanan, Vishnu Saravanan, and KC Ganapathy.

The Indian sailing team is confident of winning medals in the 2023 Asian Games. They have been training hard and are determined to bring home the gold.