BCCI Announced India’s Squad For T20 World Cup 2024

T20 World Cup 2024, Indian Cricket Team

BCCI has announced the 15-member Indian squad for the T20 World Cup 2024 today (30 April). It was already clear that Rohit Sharma would captain India in the upcoming T20 World Cup. The board has appointed Hardik Pandya as the vice-captain.

Also Read: Shivam Dube Bats his way into T20 World Cup contention? Here’s what Akash Chopra has to say

The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup will be co-hosted by West Indies and America from June 1. India is going with two wicket keepers options Rishabh Pant and Sanju Samson. Whereas Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma will be in the team as top-order batters. Shubman Gill, on the other hand, is going as a reserved player.

In the middle order, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant, Sanju Samson and Shivam Dube are there and Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja and Axar Patel could play the role of finishers.

Indian Cricket Team Announced For T20 World Cup 2024

Rohit Sharma (C), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (WK), Sanju Samson (WK), Hardik Pandya (VC), Shivam Dube, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Arshdeep Singh, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj

Reserves: Shubman Gill, Rinku Singh, Khalil Ahmed, Avesh Khan

India will play their first match against Ireland on 5th June. But the second match is a crucial one as it is against their arch-rival Pakistan on June 9.

India is in Group A with Pakistan, Ireland, USA and Canada. Till now, in Group A, India is the only team that has announced their squad.

On 29 April, New Zealand became the first to announce the squad for the ICC T20 World Cup 2024. Kiwis have also unveiled their jersey for the prestigious tournament.

Meanwhile, May 1 is the deadline for the teams to submit their provisional squads to the ICC. All the countries can make the changes in their squad until May 25 and they can also choose to keep their lists undisclosed.