Kerala Blasters History, Ownership, Squad members, Support Staff and Honors

Khel Now

Kerala Blasters, a.k.a the Yellow Army, is an Indian professional Football club that plays in the Indian Super League under the license provided in the shade of the All India Football Federation.


Kerala Blasters was founded five years ago on 24th May 2014 after the All India Football Federation, the main body behind the association Football in India, and IMG-Reliance announced the ownership bids of the eight selected teams upon the inaugural season of the Indian Super League.

Thw Former Indian Cricketer Sachin Tendulkar won the bidding for the Kochi franchise with entrepreneur Prasad V Potluri. On 27th May 2014, the team was officially named Kerala Blasters FC.

On 13th August 2014, the former England goalkeeper David James was made the first head coach and the marquee player of the team. On 13th August 2014, the team played its first match against the Northeast United. The former Newcastle United forward Michael Chopra became the first foreign player to be drafted by the Kerala Blasters.

Club Ownership

The Ownership of the team is currently divided among four personalities, Indian film actor Chiranjeevi, film producer Allu Arvind, India industrialist Nimmagadda Prasad and Indian film actor, producer, television presenter, and entrepreneur Akkineni Nagarjuna. The net worth of the club is around 5.80 million Euros.

The Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium in Kochi, Kerala serves as the home ground of the team. The stadium has a capacity of 65,000, but has been limited to 40,000 for the Indian Super League. The stadium is considered one of the noisiest Football stadiums in the world due to its distinctive architecture.


Name Position Age
Eelco Schattorie Manager 47
Ishfaq Ahmed Assistant Manager 36
Shaun Ontong Assistant Manager 32
Cristian Patru Goalkeeping coach 42
John Burridge Goalkeeping coach 67


Name Position Age
Viren D’Silva Chief Executive Officer


Name  Position Jersey No.
Messi Bouli Forward 28
Mohamad Rafi Forward 20
Bartholomew Ogbeche Forward 10
Sergio Cidoncha Midfielders 22
Seityasen Singh Midfielders 8
Samuel Lalmuanpuia Midfielders 27
Prasanth Karuthadathkuni Midfielders 18
Pragyan Gogoi Midfielders 17
M. Gning Midfielders 11
Mario Arques Midfielders 41
Jeakson Singh Midfielders 7
Halicharan Narzary Midfielders 6
Abdul Hakku Defender 55
Gianni Zuiverloon Defender 19
Jairo Rodrigues Defender 3
Jessel Carneiro Defender 14
Lalruatthara Defender 39
Mohamad Rakip Defender 2
Raju Gaikwad Defender 5
Pritam Singh Defender 23
S. Kunniyil GoalKeeper 42
TP Rehenesh GoalKeeper 13
Bilal Hussian GoalKeeper 1


The club hasn’t won any domestic or continental tournament so far.

Leave a Reply