Australia set to tour England for limited-overs series in September

Australia to tour England for limited-overs series in September

England is reportedly scheduled to host Australia for a limited-overs series in September and all the matches will take place inside the bio-secure bubble developed by the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB)

Both the teams will be involved in a three-match T20I and as many ODI matches series starting from September 4. The ODI series will be a part of the ICC Super World Cup League, which kicked off between England and Ireland.

The T20I series will be played at the Ageas Bowl in Southampton while the ODI series will entirely be played at the Old Trafford. Australia has named the Big Bash League trio Riley Meredith, Josh Philippe and Daniel Sams in the 21-man squad for the series. 

Glenn Maxwell, Nathan Lyon and Marcus Stoinis have also got a call-up for the ODI series after almost six months of no cricket due to coronavirus pandemic. 

Australia’s 21-man squad: Aaron Finch (c), Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Alex Carey, Pat Cummins, Josh Hazlewood, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Riley Meredith, Josh Philippe, Daniel Sams, Kane Richardson, Steven Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Andrew Tye, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Adam Zampa

Aaron Finch will be lead the side as Cricket Australia (CA) also got the clearance from the government for the squad that will travel to London this week. D’Arcy Short, Usman Khawaja and Travis Head haven’t been included in the 21-man squad. 

The limited-overs series schedule:

T20I Series: 

  • First T20I– September 4 (Ageas Bowl, Southampton)
  • Second T20I– September 6 (Ageas Bowl, Southampton)
  • Third T20I– September 8 (Ageas Bowl, Southampton)

ODI Series:

  • First ODI– September 11 (Old Trafford, Manchester)
  • Second ODI– September 13 (Old Trafford, Manchester)
  • Third ODI– September 16 (Old Trafford, Manchester)